Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is so easy to make. I leave my on the kitchen counter and it's usually ready in 4 days. I use this starter to make Amish friendship bread. Hmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Very easy to follow. Gave me great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We've had ours going for about 6 months, and pass it back and forward between family members. It started out quite sweet, but has been slowly gaining a sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I am so glad I read the reviews before trying this! I forgot to feed the starter once and it never bounced back. I think there is very little live yeast left in it as the bread comes out very flat and dense. I have now started adding extra yeast and this seems to help. There is also not a very strong sour flavor but I hope this will improve with age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
loved this so much so easy and yet so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Tried this recipe for the first time this week. I have San Fran Sourdough covered and rising right now. I can't wait to try it! OK - as for the starter it smelled super ready but after reading the reviews I don't expect super sourdough until the replacement flour and water in the original starter have fermented some more. I was told by a friend (who is a wonderful baker) that it could take several months to get really great sourdough flavour. We'll see... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This starter really does do the trick. Like another reviewer, I've visited all the sites and learned of all the failures. Poppycock. This is just great and doesn't suck up your life. The brown liquid on top is called hooch and I bet it would knock your socks off if you drank it:-) I found this to be very forgiving and haven't fed it every single day, yet it does the trick. The first batch of bread was excellent, even if it wasn't sour--the consistency was fantastic. Since all starters will taste different depending on where you live and the yeast in the air, I keep mine covered with a very clean wash cloth and secure it in place with a rubber band so yeast in the air can get in. We also use 1/2 white whole wheat flour because it has more natural yeast. If stored in the refrigerator, let the starter sit out until room temperature before using. This starter will be willed to my daughter when I leave this world. It's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Great starter recipe! It has worked out wonderfully for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've never made sourdough before and didn't even know where to start. This recipe helped a ton and now I have starter just sitting in my refrigerator, waiting for me for when I want to make bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States