Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I used the receipt for the my starter, it didn't look like the video. Because the weather here is very dry, I find adding at least a cup more water is best. The end result was very good. It's like it's alive! This is my first starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Be sure to click the link under 'how to make this recipe' for a short movie containing more information. Does anyone have any ideas of how/where to store this so that your entire house does not smell sour? I'm running out of candles...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
first time making any kind of starter, is suppose to be liquid. I am on my 3rd day and I find there is not much texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boucherville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I LOVE this starter. It made me the san frasisco sourdough bread! Um.....I think that you also need to feed this starter I want to ask Esther Nelson about that. But,anyways,I love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serene Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Ok, so I made the starter exactly according to the recipe, stirred it really well and placed it in the oven with the oven light on. Within two hours (!!!!), my starter was falling out onto the drip tray I had set up. What did I do wrong? I stirred everything back up and left it on the kitchen counter. Is it still ok to use it and how long should I let it ferment? Please help!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I think the recipe will be fine but like many others I feel the directions are very poor. Afer three days my starter smelled good and had the brown liquid on top. But it did not expand. I read the reviews and researched a few other sites and found out about feeding it. The recipe here should mention that you still have to feed it during it's birth. I just added 1/3 cup warm water and 1/3 cup rye flour and I am hoping it will bubble and expand. The directions should be upgraded for us beginners. I deducted two stars becasue of the poor directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This has been such a fun project! My husband started the starter and we've made Sourdough Rye and today I made a basic Sourdough loaf. Wow. So delicious, easy and honestly, fun. I've had four people already ask me for the starter recipe just this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This was my first time for making sourdough starter. I mixed it up in a two quart glass jar and stirred it daily with a wooden spoon. Five days later I made the San Francisco sourdough bread, 1/2 of recipe. Then I added 3/4 cup of flour and water and a pinch of sugar to the starter. Very easy and the bread was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Awesome starter. makes really good sourdough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Accidentally used triple the amount of yeast it calls for... a nice sour aroma showed up after the first day. Put my starter in a gallon sized plastic tub with holes poked in the lid (after i tried to put it in a 6 cup glass jar. I think due to the extra amounts of yeast it had to work with it was a little enthusiastic in its expansion... never again) Its day three now and I'm quite sure I've got some form of alcohol on top. Smells extremely ripe and I will be trying out the San Fransisco Sourdough today. Will write the results. Baking is my life, I like making sweets and candies; but i LOVE making my own breads. I hope to own my very own bakery sometime in my future. This recipe might help me in that achievement and for that I thank you Esther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States