Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This is the first time I have ever made a starter. It was ready in two days! I couldn't believe it. I let it age more in the refrigerator and just made my first loaves of bread. They were so good! I took the advice of someone who posted and fed with a little bit of sugar every couple of days. I can't wait until it ages more and I make bread again. Thanks for the recipe. It was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
The instructions were somewhat incomplete for sourdough newbs like myself (feeding and taking care of the starter) but the bread I made was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I had not done a starter before and did a lot of reading through several recipes and reviews. This one seemed to be the best one. I did add in a tsp. of agave sweetner each morning and evening when I fed the start a 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup warm water. My son enjoyed watching this process and the whole family has enjoyed eating the bread from this starter ever since. I use the San Francisco bread recipe to make this bread. I even made a whole wheat version and it came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Wow! This was my first attempt at any kind of bread starter. I started it on Sunday, left out on kitchen counter in glass bowl with loose lid. Fed 1/4 water and 1/4 flour daily. Made San Fran sourdough from this site on Saturday. Super easy and very delish. I wasn't sure how to replace what I took from the starter so I just put equal amounts of flour/water of what I took from the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I tried my first loaf of sourdough bread about 2 weeks after making my starter. The bread is delicious (the San Francisco Sourdough recipe on this website) but it is not nearly as sour as I expected. Also, I am so glad that others posted comments about feeding your starter beforehand. I never would have known to do so otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Started on Sunday, made rolls on Wed. that were fabulous - looking forward to it aging. Am feeding it 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup water each day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
First time I made starter and this one is a "good ern" as we say here in the south has the perfect sourdough smell after 4 days in a hot laundry room.lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bread Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Other readers helped this to be 5 star for me. Between the recipes and other posters tips, I have made, on my first attempt, a succesful starter. Thank you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OmaCindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Like others, I would give 5 stars if there were instructions for feeding this to keep it alive. I fed mine about a half cup of flour and half cup of warm water daily. I used it today to make san fransisco sourdough off this site, and it's wonderful. Has a scent a little stronger than beer, but not unpleasant. Replenished with equal amounts of flour and warm water what I used for the recipe and it's happily growing in the bowl again in my kitchen... I can't wait until this ages more. I did feed the first day with a touch of sugar as well as flour and water, but haven't added sugar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is an excellent recipe! The only reason that I gave a 4 star instead of 5 star is because the recipe does not instruct on the feeding it daily. I got that information from other reviews. My first two starters turned orange and had to be thrown out because it gets so hot in Phoenix, AZ. If you live in a hot state and don't keep the room in the 70's due to high electricity bills, you'll want to keep the starter in the refrigerator and feed it twice a day. I leave mine out overnight because that's when I crank up the air conditioner and it gives the starter a chance to age at a faster rate. First batch of sourdough bread using the San Francisco sourdough recipe turned out very well. Turned out fabulous but not as sour as it should be, but I didn't expect it to be with such a young starter. Last night when I fed my twice daily 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cut warm water I could really smell it and look forward to the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Marie Brown
Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States