Sourdough Starter II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This worked wonderful for me made bread to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I've just hit the two-year anniversary with this starter, and I think it's going to be a long-term relationship. It's easy to start and very forgiving with its care. I'll go months with out feeding it, dig it out from the back of the fridge and get reinspired, dump off most of the alcohol, stir it up, feed it, it gets happy, and a day later I have some very yummy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Awesome my family and I love it. I even changed it some by adding bacon bits when I went to bake it and it was terrific. We also added garlic in this last time and it was great. I love sour dough bread and haven't been able to have it for years because of no starter. I am so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I have now made two loaves with the bread. Solid flavor and good rise to the bread. It's flourishing when fed just once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nataliem60

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Village, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
How long do you keep it in the refrigerator?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I rated this recipe with three stars because the bread didn't have a sourdough taste. Adding a quarter cup of sugar to feed the batch was way too much, now the bread is sweet not sour. However, it was easy to make and the bread was tasty, just not a sourdough bread in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Easy, good, don't refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This is the first starter I have tried and it was super easy. I have had this starter going for a couple weeks and it has given me many wonderful loaves of bread (used the San Francisco Sourdough recipe) and looking forward to more. I used part white and part wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Awesome starter! I also used this to go with San Francisco Sourdough Bread (this site) and made two large loaves. They turned out beautiful and delicious. I currently have more starter going!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherkelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I have been looking for a good starter for sourdough bread. I have made a couple loaves from this stater and they have tasted absolutely wonderful. I let it sit on the counter a little longer than you recommended but that is because I like truely sour sourdough bread. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States