Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I have tried this recipe 3X and it NEVER works! Maybe someone can inform me what kind of potato flakes to use-it is ALWAYS runny; never firms up like it is suppose to; wish it would work, because it sounds like the quickest and easiest, but it is a BUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Yayy! I used to have this starter and loved making it. I also fed 3/4c. sugar & 3 T. potato flakes. I am on my 3rd batch of bread for Christmas presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is THE BEST SOURDOUGH STARTER EVER!!! Don't listen to lancelem's review! This starter makes the very best sourghdough bread! The only thing I do different is when I feed it I add 3/4 C sugar - I do add the 3 T potato flakes and 1 cup of warm water like this feeder recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
I used this starter with for the San Fransico Sourdough. My first time using a starter, it was easy and the bread tasted good, but I have to remember to start it more than 5 days in advance as for some recipes call for more starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Thanks Becky!!!I had lost my recipe for this delicious bread and was so thrilled to find your great recipe. It is so delicious. The only thing I do differently is add more sugar when feeding the starter, 3/4 cup. Then when ready to mix the bread I add 1/2 cup of sugar. I have been making it for 12 weeks and have given it to so many friends and they are all making sourdough bread too. Its easy, takes 2 full days to get the homemade bread but soooooo worth it. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
If you are looking for authentic sourdough bread, this starter is not for you! Sourdough is made from natural yeast, not store bought yeast. There are many fine books on Sourdoungh baking that explain how to make your own starter without using store bought yeast. Some companies will even sell you their starter for $5 to $15. I have used the instructions for building a natural starter from Nancy Siverton's "Breads from the La Brea Bakery" with very good success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is easy, but you just have to wait 5 days to use it, but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This is a great starter, and the bread was wonderful! Easy and less messy than other starters too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
This was so exciting to make. This was my first time and it was really easy to get started.I couldn't wait til the fifth day to take my starter and begin to make my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I really enjoy making this bread. Not messy like a flour starter. I use 3 smaller loaf pans so I can share it with more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States