Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
It's alive!! Am going to feed it a couple times before making bread,, Now to be patient enough to make the bread ;)And yes it will be soupy since there isnt any flour in the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I rated it high because apparently it works BUT I am not sure how the starter is supposed to be acting. It is pretty "Soupy" and yes, very stinky. All I want to know is if i am doing something wrong... ?? I made a starter before and it really grew, this is just very soupy.... ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I have used many different types of starters but this one (by far) is the best. Thank you Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
This is an awesome starter. I also use 3/4c. sugar & 3 T. potato flakes and 1 cup warm water to feed like a few other reviewers. The starter is so easy to get going and tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Having before given this recipe a high review, I now have to change my opinion somewhat. My third try at making bread proved less than completely successful with the starter appearing much less "active" after feeding, whether from some problem with the yeast or something else entirely I don't know. On the fourth try, very little change was evident at all after feeding and the bread was heavier and rose less than ever. After writing to Allrecipes for advice, I was told that I should either start over or give my starter a boost with multiple and frequent feedings. In the meantime, I found another recipe (not listed on this website) that is working very well. It may have been outside factors that caused this starter to die. I don't know. But my early success with it was shortlived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I really liked this starter. I wish it made a larger volume. Will try and double the starter receipe to share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I JUST GOT STARTED, PUT ALL INGREDIENTS IN THE BOWL AND STIRRED, THEN COVERED, 10 MINUTES LATER I HEARD A LOUD NOISE, AND THE LID WAS LAYING ACROSS THE ROOM. SO, IVE LEARNED SO FAR THAT YOU DONT USE A TIGHT SEALING TUPPERWARE BOWL AND LID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Years ago an employer gave me a cup of this starter and I made sourdough bread many times; but I let the starter die and haven't been able to make sourdough bread since because I didn't know how to begin the starter. I have searched everywhere and experiemented and failed; UNTIL I FOUND BECKY'S RECIPE. THIS IS IT, THIS IS IT YESSSSS!!!! Your bread is only as good as the starter and let me tell you that this ladies recipe is the one and only!!! Don't try it any other way!! There is a few things that I do differently, after putting together initial starter (like she explains in her recipe) and it has set on the counter for five days when I feed it on the fifth day I feed it: (1 cup of warm water, 3 heaping tablespoons of potato flakes and 3/4 cup of sugar). I will then continue to feed it every 3 to 5 days; Disposing of or making bread with one cup of starter 12 hours after every feeding. Use her sourdough starter and sourdough bread recipe for ultimate sourdough bread. Thank you sooooo much Becky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This is a WONDERFUL, sweet sourdough base. It is not a San Fransisco sourdough. I had a starter like this given to me years ago, but it died due to neglect. I am glad to have it again. Use it with this same submitter's (Becky Richardson) recipe for sourdough bread. It makes a delicious, sweet dough that I use for french toast, cinnamon raisin bread and cinnamon rolls. Glad to have this growing in my fridge once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I have tried numerous sourdough starter recipes and this is the first that I have gotten raves from my family and requests for more on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States