Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is just like the starter I used to use years ago. I've had it for several weeks now and it's very easy to maintain. I use Becky's bread recipe too and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
A great starter--I've given it out to several friends who had to have the recipe after trying the bread. It's very easy to maintain, too. I kept mine in the fridge and fed it/made bread every 3-7 days (ususally every 7).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
the best starter recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
So far, I've attempted this starter twice. The first time, I put it in a older two-piece casserole dish. This time around, I used a glass canister that has a push down close top. It smells like it should, but I remember when my mom made sourdough starter that it was thicker. Sure, it's easy. That's what drew me to it. But, I'm not sure that this starter is for me. I'm going to try it in a recipe this weekend and give it a shot. But, honestly, I don't think I'm going to be impressed. EDITED 06/27/08: This did not work for me. At all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Well, I'm giving this recipe the benefit of the doubt. Here is why: I followed the instructions exactly but it did not get as sour as I'd like, however, maybe it could have something to do with the bread recipe itself versus just the starter. I did make Becky's Sourdough Bread to go with my first try because I thought it would be best to pair the two the first go round. It was very good just not as sour as I'd like. Maybe like a previous reviewer said, it takes weeks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I was so excited to find this recipe. My grandmother made sourdough bread constantly. Anytime we went to her house she gave us bread to take home and of course we had it for every meal she cooked. She passed away almost two years ago and I just recently found her bread recipe along with the instructions on feeding the starter but I didn't have the starter, so thank you so much for sharing this recipe because it is exactly like hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Koontz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gassaway, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Beckley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This Starter is a no-brainer!! Easy to start and care for. The flavor keeps building the longer you feed and use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
It took about six weeks for this starter to really develop the strong sour/tangy flavor I was looking for, but it was well worth the wait. I use it to make whole wheat sourdough bread, and the flavor is out of this world. Thanks, Becky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I use to have a recipe like this and lost it. It was very much like this one, except that it was NOT started with yeast as this one is. I finally found mine and tried and tried to make it and it never would rise. Since I found this one, I am so very pleased with it and my bread rises for very large loaves. Thanks to Becky, I am back making bread all the time. We never buy a loaf at the store anymore. I have one question though. Is there any reason that the starter needs to be refrigerated? I know that back in the Pioneer days they didn't have refrigeration and they kept it in the chuck wagon. I did notice that one person stated in her review that she kept hers sitting at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Ward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mulyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman Wells, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States