Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
People with Celiac Disease can eat sourdough bread again!!! This sourdough starter is great because it can be adapted to make gluten free sour dough bread. (This starter is gluten free since it uses potato flakes instead of flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I have been using this starter now for about two or three months and I am really happy with it. It gives a really good sour taste. Some starters are not very sour, if you like your bread really sour, this is the starter for you. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have looked for this particular recipe for several years. Thank you, Becky. I just mixed up my "first" starter and can hardly wait for it to be ready to use. This starter makes the most wonderful bread and cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
sorry..i am new here and i would like to try this. but my problem is what do you mean by potato flakes? i am from Southeast Asia and we mostly use fresh potatoes rather than buying them in boxes from groceries...appreciate any share here...thanks...i am sure this starter is good, with the right ingredients and conditions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
One of the easiest sourdough starters to get going and keep going. Takes 3-4 batches of bread to really develop deep favor but then there's no stopping it. Makes wonderful bread and rolls which are even better the next day toasted for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I love this starter but it's more sweet than sour. Is there a way to make it more sour so the bread has more of a tangy sourdough taste???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is the best recipe ever. I had this several years ago and lost it. I am so elated to find it here on All-Recipes!!!! It is so easy to make. My family cannot wait for it to come out of the oven. I also make cinnamon rolls, dinner rolls, monkey bread, and Christmas breads with this recipes. Thank You!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This is perfectly WONDERFUL Sourdough Starter!! 17 years ago we ate a meal at an old friends house as we were passing through on our way out west. We STILL talk about that meal because of the bread she made! She used this starter. The negative reviews for this seem to be because some are having trouble keeping it going...I read in an artical to NEVER use "city," chlorinated water because the chlorine will inevidably "kill" the starter! The other complaints seem to be about the breads "sweetness". Well, it is "yummy sweet"!...I suppose it WOULD be better if there was a way to feed it with a more "natural" sweetener...but I am afraid to try. Does anyone know if we are suppose to cover this as it sits on the counter? I am using a mason jar like in the picture and I don't know if I should close it tight...somewhere I read that sour-dough needs oxygen? I CAN'T WAIT TO START BAKING UP A STORM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I can't believe I finally found this starter again! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurelinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I've been making this bread for years and it's definitely a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States