Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Lancelem has a point. From Silverton's The Breads of La Brea Bakery: ... [Sometimes] cookbooks instructs readers to use commercial or baker's yeast in the initial batch. But commercial or baker's yeast is so much stronger than wild yeast that I have to wonder: What's the point of going to the trouble of raising and maintaining a starter over days, weeks, and years, if you are going to include a strain of yeast guaranteed to bully out the wonderful, naturally occurring organisms in the air? ... In the production of baker's yeast almost all lactic acid bacteria are eliminated before the yeast is packaged for sale. This recipe looks like a poolish that has been propagated. A poolish is a commonly used preferment which adds a lot of flavor. The day before you bake, you add a small amount of yeast to flour and water and leave it out to ferment, then add it to the dough the next day. You can get great results. The starter itself behaves like it's predominantly still commercial yeast. Sugar is used to feed commercial yeast; I've never heard of feeding a natural starter sugar. Also, if you can feed it once after a week of storage and use it, it's probably still mostly a commercial strain. Most bakers recommend at least one day of feeding after a week in the fridge. With two or three feedings a day. Mine needs about six feedings to get reliable. Whatever strain of yeast it employs, people seem to love the results so thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Lancelem's review is wrong. This starter works great. It's actually the very same recipe I got from an Amish cookbook called "The Amish Cook at Home". Except feed the starter 3/4 c sugar instead of 3 TBS, the rest is exactly the same. It made GREAT bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pashta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This looks good, but I have a question. Why do the instructions say 3 tablespoons of sugar to feed and some of the reviewers say they add 3/4 cup of sugar when they feed the batch? This seems like a lot of sugar but could be great for Amish Friendship Bread. Could someone explain. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Better starter than the one that I have been using for the last 15 years. This starter works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is the best sourdough starter I have ever tried. I have previously tried others on this site and they have never some out the way that I want them to. This one is so simple that my 7 and 8 year olds can feed it and make bread with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Works great! smells wonderful. I made cinnamon buns with it yesterday and it was a 10! Smells like a bakery in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My mother used to make this bread and it is wonderful! The best tasting bread I have ever eat. I had the starter and due to neglect also lost mine and I have looked for years for this starter! Thank you soooooo much Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made it through the five day count down to make my sourdough bread.. You talk about delicious !!!! I have already started 3 people with my starter and they can not wait to cook it for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
***** I have been using this starter with the 3/4 cup sugar feeding option for 2 1/2 years. It can also be switched over to Splenda after well established, if you want less sugar with the same flavor. Splenda starter bread rises higher than with the sugar. The bread recipe I use is slightly different than Becky's but basically the same. See it for comments, too. The starter does need to be able to "breathe", so it can't be tightly covered. My version said you were supposed to feed twice before using any of the starter. After that, it's every 3 to 5 days. I found that if I left more than 2 cups in the jar, the feeding solution wasn't enough to support the extra, so I now leave between 1 1/2 and 2 cups after taking my baking portion out after feeding. Perhaps that's why some people's kept losing strength. The feeding solution is figured to sustain only 2 cups of starter. Baby Rice cereal can be switched for potato flakes if you are adverturous. It makes a slightly sweeter, finer textured bread we really liked. Baby Oatmeal never worked for me. Bread made with a starter switched to it wasn't tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I lol'ed at the reviews stating that this is not a "real" starter and to use "natural" starters. After a few weeks, there is not a single cell of "store bought" yeast living within the jar. It is entirely replenished and propagating with new natural yeast. That goes for your "natural" yeast strains as well. Your yeast will take up whatever environmental constraints you put on it within a very short period of time. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States