Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This recipe didn't work for me. I tended to my starter as directed. After the first couple of uses, it appeard to die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This bread starter was given to me by a long-lost friend. I used this starter to make sour dough bread, but then let I let the starter 'die'. My children have asked me to make this bread over and over, but I couldn't find the starter that I had loved so much. But now I've found it again! I use this starter along with the Sour Dough Bread I recipe to make the most delicious (dense..not San Francisco style) sour dough bread. I use the Sourdough Bread I recipe (also submitted by Becky), and I get the bread that my children beg for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Johnson Geer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This sounded like the starter a friend of mine had spoken of in memories of her grandmother's bread making. I have now baked my first loaves (using Becky's Sourdough 1 recipe). My starter didn't do much bubbling and was very much liquid, but I took a cup of it and proceeded with the recipe. The result was not a dough that was kneadable, so I simply let the machine knead the batter for 10 minutes, poured the result into 2 loaf pans and baked. The end result was a sweetish sour loaf with a tight texture. My friend said it was close to her grandmothers, but was a bit more dense and a little less sweet. So - next time, I'll feed the starter with a bit more sugar and when I use it with the recipe, I'll increase the flour so that I end up with a more kneadable dough and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I was a little scared about this starter - it kept separating over the 5 days. But I just made my first bread and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Where can I find the bread recipe for this starter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I can make out of this world bread and cinnamon rolls with this starter. The first time I did it, it foamed up every day of the 5 days. But, when I had to start fresh I couldn't get it going again! After the initial foaming, it died down and never bubbled again. Is that normal? I thought it was a dud, so I poured it out (many times). I've made sure I had fresh yeast, flakes and sugar, right water temp, etc. I even tried distilled water. Loose cover on the jar, wooden spoon. I'm stumped. Anyone else have that problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Thank you for posting. This recipe is wonderful. Easy enough for my daughters to learn how to bake sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is awesome, use with Becky Richardson's Sourdough Bread for a fabulous sourdough bread. For those reviewers who said that the starter was just a runny mess, it is runny, but that is OK! This bread is now a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this starter made a delicious bread. i used the sourdough bread 1 with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love this recipe!!! I had a starter that someone gave me years ago and of course got tired of it. Then I found this one, it can't be beat. My family loves it when I make cinnamon bread with it. I just add 1/4 cup of cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of nutmeg. sometimes we make french toast out of it, don't need syrup either!! Thanks again... I do have a question.. can the recipe be doubled? I would like to just for the holidays. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States