Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Yayy! I used to have this starter and loved making it. I also fed 3/4c. sugar & 3 T. potato flakes. I am on my 3rd batch of bread for Christmas presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Thanks Becky!!!I had lost my recipe for this delicious bread and was so thrilled to find your great recipe. It is so delicious. The only thing I do differently is add more sugar when feeding the starter, 3/4 cup. Then when ready to mix the bread I add 1/2 cup of sugar. I have been making it for 12 weeks and have given it to so many friends and they are all making sourdough bread too. Its easy, takes 2 full days to get the homemade bread but soooooo worth it. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is THE BEST SOURDOUGH STARTER EVER!!! Don't listen to lancelem's review! This starter makes the very best sourghdough bread! The only thing I do different is when I feed it I add 3/4 C sugar - I do add the 3 T potato flakes and 1 cup of warm water like this feeder recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
This is a great starter, and the bread was wonderful! Easy and less messy than other starters too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I have tried numerous sourdough starter recipes and this is the first that I have gotten raves from my family and requests for more on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
This starter makes the best sourdough bread. It is easy and fun, but does take several days to complete the recipe. But that makes it even mor special. You can give to friends and tell them it took three days to make. They are really impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This is a very easy starter - not as messy as flour starters - but smellier! But I actually like the smell now because I know the wonderful bread it produces! I would advise anyone who makes this starter to use Becky Richardson's Sourdough Bread Recipe - it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
I really enjoy making this bread. Not messy like a flour starter. I use 3 smaller loaf pans so I can share it with more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
This was so exciting to make. This was my first time and it was really easy to get started.I couldn't wait til the fifth day to take my starter and begin to make my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is easy, but you just have to wait 5 days to use it, but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States