Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Years ago an employer gave me a cup of this starter and I made sourdough bread many times; but I let the starter die and haven't been able to make sourdough bread since because I didn't know how to begin the starter. I have searched everywhere and experiemented and failed; UNTIL I FOUND BECKY'S RECIPE. THIS IS IT, THIS IS IT YESSSSS!!!! Your bread is only as good as the starter and let me tell you that this ladies recipe is the one and only!!! Don't try it any other way!! There is a few things that I do differently, after putting together initial starter (like she explains in her recipe) and it has set on the counter for five days when I feed it on the fifth day I feed it: (1 cup of warm water, 3 heaping tablespoons of potato flakes and 3/4 cup of sugar). I will then continue to feed it every 3 to 5 days; Disposing of or making bread with one cup of starter 12 hours after every feeding. Use her sourdough starter and sourdough bread recipe for ultimate sourdough bread. Thank you sooooo much Becky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
If you are looking for authentic sourdough bread, this starter is not for you! Sourdough is made from natural yeast, not store bought yeast. There are many fine books on Sourdoungh baking that explain how to make your own starter without using store bought yeast. Some companies will even sell you their starter for $5 to $15. I have used the instructions for building a natural starter from Nancy Siverton's "Breads from the La Brea Bakery" with very good success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I JUST GOT STARTED, PUT ALL INGREDIENTS IN THE BOWL AND STIRRED, THEN COVERED, 10 MINUTES LATER I HEARD A LOUD NOISE, AND THE LID WAS LAYING ACROSS THE ROOM. SO, IVE LEARNED SO FAR THAT YOU DONT USE A TIGHT SEALING TUPPERWARE BOWL AND LID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This is THE BEST SOURDOUGH STARTER EVER!!! Don't listen to lancelem's review! This starter makes the very best sourghdough bread! The only thing I do different is when I feed it I add 3/4 C sugar - I do add the 3 T potato flakes and 1 cup of warm water like this feeder recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This is a WONDERFUL, sweet sourdough base. It is not a San Fransisco sourdough. I had a starter like this given to me years ago, but it died due to neglect. I am glad to have it again. Use it with this same submitter's (Becky Richardson) recipe for sourdough bread. It makes a delicious, sweet dough that I use for french toast, cinnamon raisin bread and cinnamon rolls. Glad to have this growing in my fridge once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I have tried this recipe 3X and it NEVER works! Maybe someone can inform me what kind of potato flakes to use-it is ALWAYS runny; never firms up like it is suppose to; wish it would work, because it sounds like the quickest and easiest, but it is a BUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Thanks Becky!!!I had lost my recipe for this delicious bread and was so thrilled to find your great recipe. It is so delicious. The only thing I do differently is add more sugar when feeding the starter, 3/4 cup. Then when ready to mix the bread I add 1/2 cup of sugar. I have been making it for 12 weeks and have given it to so many friends and they are all making sourdough bread too. Its easy, takes 2 full days to get the homemade bread but soooooo worth it. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I have tried numerous sourdough starter recipes and this is the first that I have gotten raves from my family and requests for more on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I've had this starter for about a month and I've made at least 12 loaves of bread, including 1/2 white 1/2 wheat flour. It's always turned out fantastic. Sometimes the dough seems a little sticky (needs more than an extra cup of flour) - I have tried reducing the water to 1-1/8 cups and that seems to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Yayy! I used to have this starter and loved making it. I also fed 3/4c. sugar & 3 T. potato flakes. I am on my 3rd batch of bread for Christmas presents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States