Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Was really looking forward to this starter, since it has such rave reviews. It smelled awesome, and though I followed the recipe to a "T" it didn't seem to work so well. I used this starter with Becky's sourdough I recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Thanks for this recipe!! I've been looking for and testing different sourdough starter repipes, and this is the one I've been looking for! I also feed my starter 3/4 c. sugar along with the 3T flakes and 1 c. water. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I used this starter along with the submitter's recipe for Sourdough Bread I. I had never used a starter that did not call for flour in it, so was curious as to how it would work. It was very liquidy, and really didn't have a good smell! Not that beery-sourdoughy smell I've gotten used to with other recipes. The starter "brewed" up well, but I just did not care for the taste of the bread using this starter; it was quite bland, with no tangy sourdough or yeasty taste. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Becky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I've had this starter for about a month and I've made at least 12 loaves of bread, including 1/2 white 1/2 wheat flour. It's always turned out fantastic. Sometimes the dough seems a little sticky (needs more than an extra cup of flour) - I have tried reducing the water to 1-1/8 cups and that seems to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Quick easy starter. No problems at all getting it going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
This was so easy and fun for the kids to make. We don't use Becky's bread recipe, since we use the bread machine, but we love the starter. The crust is fabulous if we eat it right away, but even if it has to wait for a couple hours, it's good, just not crunchy. My only question is whether it's supposed to smell so much like alcohol? WOW, my head spins just stirring it! Can still taste the alcohol when we make the bread, but it's really good. (Hope I'm not poisoning my family... but I figured it was from the potatoes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
OMG....WOW this is amazing. I will be honest, I was truly prepared to do my first low star rating because this just didn't sound feasible but I trusted the reviews and went out of my comfort zone. The starter is easy and I highly recommend you use Beckys Bread recipe with it. I am going to double my starter as one just won't do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Do have a bi of trouble keeping it going sometimes. Used with her bread recipe. Whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
It is very true that the starter can make or break the bread. I made this starter recipe and used it with Becky's Sourdough Bread recipe. I AM AMAZED!!! It was absolutely wonderful! Thank you for the wonderful set of recipes, Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
It's alive!! Am going to feed it a couple times before making bread,, Now to be patient enough to make the bread ;)And yes it will be soupy since there isnt any flour in the starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States