Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Yay! I also had this starter a while back but let mine die as well. This is perfect just the way it is. For the reviewer who tried it three times and couldn't get it to firm up, this is supposed to be a really runny starter. It's not going to thicken up; just try using it for bread and you'll see how great it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe! If you have problems with it "exploding" it's most likely been shaken up after it was sealed and that pressure thats build up has to get out. I made that mistake the first time. Always open it stir with a wooden spoon and put the lid back on. Don't be lazy and try to shaken it up while it's in the jar. It's an awesome recipe for a starter and when used with the sourdough bread 1 recipe it makes some yummy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
My mother-in-law recommended this! The starter was easy. Just be sure to have a very secure container. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Lobes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I made a coffee cake with Beckys starter that was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is wonderful! As a first experience with a Sourdough Starter, this was a fun RollerCoaster ride. I started this on Sunday. By Thursday night, I was anxious because it looked as though it had only separated after the original gas-making exercise. I was reassured by wonderful people on the RE that, as long as it wasn't a strange colour, I was fine. So, I fed it Friday morning (had to move to a bigger container) and used it Friday night to make bread. I forgot to take the liquid into account so ended up adding more flour than required in the recipe, but that is not THIS recipe's fault. I love it! (As I have Celiac Disease, I love the fact that it has no gluten in it!) It rocks! and is resting until Wednesday, when I will try bread again and amend this review (if necessary), but so far the stars remain at 5. Thanks, Becky! You have restored the fun and anticipation in breadmaking with one simple little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Easy and it was fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Thanks for the great starter Becky. The first two or three days, I thought it looked rather blah in color and it did not smell like bread by any means. On the fifth day when I poured out 1 cup to add to your SD recipe on this site I changed my mind. I mixed the ingredients, including the starter, in the evening. During the night I could smell the dough throughout the house. A wonderful smell. I followed your directions for the starter and the bread exactly as you posted them. I made two wonderful loaves of SD bread, thanks to you. This is a true keeper. Very impressive results. Once again, thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I can't even begin to tell you how super excited I was to see this starter on here. A few years back I got this from a fellow teacher and then I let it go as in was tired of baking in the middle of summer, so i used all of the starter and made 4 loaves. When winter came again, prime time for baking, I could not get in contact with my friend to see if she had the starter still. I tried for days to find her and search on the internet. All I came up with was sourdough starters you can buy. I knew as soon as I saw this that it was the one because of the potato flakes. :o) I couldn't believe my eyes. I just started this tonight, but I am already positive it is exactly what I have come to know as the best bread dough ever made. The sticky buns are to die for out of this dough. Just know, I'm saying a little prayer for you Becky for sharing this with all. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My mom made this starter and although it is easy, it didn't produce the typical tangy sourdough bread she was hoping for. She made the San Francisco Sourdough Bread from this site. I started my own starter & look forward to making Becky's sourdough bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
People with Celiac Disease can eat sourdough bread again!!! This sourdough starter is great because it can be adapted to make gluten free sour dough bread. (This starter is gluten free since it uses potato flakes instead of flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sulli3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States