Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This looks good, but I have a question. Why do the instructions say 3 tablespoons of sugar to feed and some of the reviewers say they add 3/4 cup of sugar when they feed the batch? This seems like a lot of sugar but could be great for Amish Friendship Bread. Could someone explain. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Better starter than the one that I have been using for the last 15 years. This starter works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is the best sourdough starter I have ever tried. I have previously tried others on this site and they have never some out the way that I want them to. This one is so simple that my 7 and 8 year olds can feed it and make bread with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Works great! smells wonderful. I made cinnamon buns with it yesterday and it was a 10! Smells like a bakery in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My mother used to make this bread and it is wonderful! The best tasting bread I have ever eat. I had the starter and due to neglect also lost mine and I have looked for years for this starter! Thank you soooooo much Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made it through the five day count down to make my sourdough bread.. You talk about delicious !!!! I have already started 3 people with my starter and they can not wait to cook it for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
***** I have been using this starter with the 3/4 cup sugar feeding option for 2 1/2 years. It can also be switched over to Splenda after well established, if you want less sugar with the same flavor. Splenda starter bread rises higher than with the sugar. The bread recipe I use is slightly different than Becky's but basically the same. See it for comments, too. The starter does need to be able to "breathe", so it can't be tightly covered. My version said you were supposed to feed twice before using any of the starter. After that, it's every 3 to 5 days. I found that if I left more than 2 cups in the jar, the feeding solution wasn't enough to support the extra, so I now leave between 1 1/2 and 2 cups after taking my baking portion out after feeding. Perhaps that's why some people's kept losing strength. The feeding solution is figured to sustain only 2 cups of starter. Baby Rice cereal can be switched for potato flakes if you are adverturous. It makes a slightly sweeter, finer textured bread we really liked. Baby Oatmeal never worked for me. Bread made with a starter switched to it wasn't tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I lol'ed at the reviews stating that this is not a "real" starter and to use "natural" starters. After a few weeks, there is not a single cell of "store bought" yeast living within the jar. It is entirely replenished and propagating with new natural yeast. That goes for your "natural" yeast strains as well. Your yeast will take up whatever environmental constraints you put on it within a very short period of time. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Though I am only into day two of the starter, I can tell from the smell that this recipe will produce a wonderful loaf of bread. For the cook who asked if the jar or container should be closed, the answer is no, not all the way. There is activity going on inside the jar that produces gas bubbles. I leave my lids slightly ajar and have no problem with exploding tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Yay! I also had this starter a while back but let mine die as well. This is perfect just the way it is. For the reviewer who tried it three times and couldn't get it to firm up, this is supposed to be a really runny starter. It's not going to thicken up; just try using it for bread and you'll see how great it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States