Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This recipe didn't work for me. I tended to my starter as directed. After the first couple of uses, it appeard to die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This bread starter was given to me by a long-lost friend. I used this starter to make sour dough bread, but then let I let the starter 'die'. My children have asked me to make this bread over and over, but I couldn't find the starter that I had loved so much. But now I've found it again! I use this starter along with the Sour Dough Bread I recipe to make the most delicious (dense..not San Francisco style) sour dough bread. I use the Sourdough Bread I recipe (also submitted by Becky), and I get the bread that my children beg for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Johnson Geer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This sounded like the starter a friend of mine had spoken of in memories of her grandmother's bread making. I have now baked my first loaves (using Becky's Sourdough 1 recipe). My starter didn't do much bubbling and was very much liquid, but I took a cup of it and proceeded with the recipe. The result was not a dough that was kneadable, so I simply let the machine knead the batter for 10 minutes, poured the result into 2 loaf pans and baked. The end result was a sweetish sour loaf with a tight texture. My friend said it was close to her grandmothers, but was a bit more dense and a little less sweet. So - next time, I'll feed the starter with a bit more sugar and when I use it with the recipe, I'll increase the flour so that I end up with a more kneadable dough and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I was a little scared about this starter - it kept separating over the 5 days. But I just made my first bread and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Where can I find the bread recipe for this starter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I can make out of this world bread and cinnamon rolls with this starter. The first time I did it, it foamed up every day of the 5 days. But, when I had to start fresh I couldn't get it going again! After the initial foaming, it died down and never bubbled again. Is that normal? I thought it was a dud, so I poured it out (many times). I've made sure I had fresh yeast, flakes and sugar, right water temp, etc. I even tried distilled water. Loose cover on the jar, wooden spoon. I'm stumped. Anyone else have that problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Thank you for posting. This recipe is wonderful. Easy enough for my daughters to learn how to bake sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is awesome, use with Becky Richardson's Sourdough Bread for a fabulous sourdough bread. For those reviewers who said that the starter was just a runny mess, it is runny, but that is OK! This bread is now a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this starter made a delicious bread. i used the sourdough bread 1 with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love this recipe!!! I had a starter that someone gave me years ago and of course got tired of it. Then I found this one, it can't be beat. My family loves it when I make cinnamon bread with it. I just add 1/4 cup of cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of nutmeg. sometimes we make french toast out of it, don't need syrup either!! Thanks again... I do have a question.. can the recipe be doubled? I would like to just for the holidays. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States