Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This sounded like the starter a friend of mine had spoken of in memories of her grandmother's bread making. I have now baked my first loaves (using Becky's Sourdough 1 recipe). My starter didn't do much bubbling and was very much liquid, but I took a cup of it and proceeded with the recipe. The result was not a dough that was kneadable, so I simply let the machine knead the batter for 10 minutes, poured the result into 2 loaf pans and baked. The end result was a sweetish sour loaf with a tight texture. My friend said it was close to her grandmothers, but was a bit more dense and a little less sweet. So - next time, I'll feed the starter with a bit more sugar and when I use it with the recipe, I'll increase the flour so that I end up with a more kneadable dough and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I was a little scared about this starter - it kept separating over the 5 days. But I just made my first bread and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Where can I find the bread recipe for this starter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I can make out of this world bread and cinnamon rolls with this starter. The first time I did it, it foamed up every day of the 5 days. But, when I had to start fresh I couldn't get it going again! After the initial foaming, it died down and never bubbled again. Is that normal? I thought it was a dud, so I poured it out (many times). I've made sure I had fresh yeast, flakes and sugar, right water temp, etc. I even tried distilled water. Loose cover on the jar, wooden spoon. I'm stumped. Anyone else have that problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Thank you for posting. This recipe is wonderful. Easy enough for my daughters to learn how to bake sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is awesome, use with Becky Richardson's Sourdough Bread for a fabulous sourdough bread. For those reviewers who said that the starter was just a runny mess, it is runny, but that is OK! This bread is now a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
this starter made a delicious bread. i used the sourdough bread 1 with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla walton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I love this recipe!!! I had a starter that someone gave me years ago and of course got tired of it. Then I found this one, it can't be beat. My family loves it when I make cinnamon bread with it. I just add 1/4 cup of cinnamon and 2 Tbsp of nutmeg. sometimes we make french toast out of it, don't need syrup either!! Thanks again... I do have a question.. can the recipe be doubled? I would like to just for the holidays. Thank you again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Lancelem has a point. From Silverton's The Breads of La Brea Bakery: ... [Sometimes] cookbooks instructs readers to use commercial or baker's yeast in the initial batch. But commercial or baker's yeast is so much stronger than wild yeast that I have to wonder: What's the point of going to the trouble of raising and maintaining a starter over days, weeks, and years, if you are going to include a strain of yeast guaranteed to bully out the wonderful, naturally occurring organisms in the air? ... In the production of baker's yeast almost all lactic acid bacteria are eliminated before the yeast is packaged for sale. This recipe looks like a poolish that has been propagated. A poolish is a commonly used preferment which adds a lot of flavor. The day before you bake, you add a small amount of yeast to flour and water and leave it out to ferment, then add it to the dough the next day. You can get great results. The starter itself behaves like it's predominantly still commercial yeast. Sugar is used to feed commercial yeast; I've never heard of feeding a natural starter sugar. Also, if you can feed it once after a week of storage and use it, it's probably still mostly a commercial strain. Most bakers recommend at least one day of feeding after a week in the fridge. With two or three feedings a day. Mine needs about six feedings to get reliable. Whatever strain of yeast it employs, people seem to love the results so thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Lancelem's review is wrong. This starter works great. It's actually the very same recipe I got from an Amish cookbook called "The Amish Cook at Home". Except feed the starter 3/4 c sugar instead of 3 TBS, the rest is exactly the same. It made GREAT bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pashta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States