Sourdough Starter I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was simple and when used with her recipe for sourdough it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a really good starter, but like with anything that is fermenting, you cannot seal it up tight, ever... One of the byproducts of fermenting is carbon dioxide, which occurs with, wine, beer, sauerkraut, yogurt (slightly), kefir, starters using flour, and so on. While not due to any fermenting, the bubbles in soda are the same carbon dioxide. Get the book "Wild Fermentation" for more information on fermenting. Great book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChileHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
When I first tried this, it was great! Now I must be doing something wrong. The dough is not rising as before. When it does rise, it will fall before I cook it. It is heavy and dense. Am I not kneading it correctly? I hope someone can give me some pointers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I have used this starter 2 times and my sour dough bread came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I followed the directions but sure had my doubts day after day about this starter! It never looked like it was doing anything. But it was perfect for using in Sourdough Bread I by Becky Richardson.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This makes delicious bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This recipe didn't work for me. I tended to my starter as directed. After the first couple of uses, it appeard to die.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This bread starter was given to me by a long-lost friend. I used this starter to make sour dough bread, but then let I let the starter 'die'. My children have asked me to make this bread over and over, but I couldn't find the starter that I had loved so much. But now I've found it again! I use this starter along with the Sour Dough Bread I recipe to make the most delicious (dense..not San Francisco style) sour dough bread. I use the Sourdough Bread I recipe (also submitted by Becky), and I get the bread that my children beg for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This sounded like the starter a friend of mine had spoken of in memories of her grandmother's bread making. I have now baked my first loaves (using Becky's Sourdough 1 recipe). My starter didn't do much bubbling and was very much liquid, but I took a cup of it and proceeded with the recipe. The result was not a dough that was kneadable, so I simply let the machine knead the batter for 10 minutes, poured the result into 2 loaf pans and baked. The end result was a sweetish sour loaf with a tight texture. My friend said it was close to her grandmothers, but was a bit more dense and a little less sweet. So - next time, I'll feed the starter with a bit more sugar and when I use it with the recipe, I'll increase the flour so that I end up with a more kneadable dough and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States