Sourdough Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
Really good - fluffy and light, very delicious. I used 1/4 cup vegetable oil instead of 1/3 cup and greased the pan the second time I made them, which (I thought) really improved the flavor and made them easier to handle. Definitely try if you have sourdough starter around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
When I took these out of the oven, my boyfriend thought they were cookies not biscuits. They are more like a soft cookie than a biscuit, but, they are pretty tasty and good with butter spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These biscuits were really light and fluffy. They needed a little more taste, next time I will add a little more salt and a little butter in the dough. I used a little extra baking soda to make them more fluffy and less like scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
I used a sweet starter and they turned out more like scones. I would never make this recipe as biscuts but I will use it to make scones again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe, but I don't think these can accurately be called "biscuits" - they really are almost like a sourdough cookie. They didn't rise and were dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
I felt it needed sugar when I made it with my traditional starter and not a sweet starter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Easy to make. The kids love it. I add about 1tbs of sugar to sweeten it. I start out with a basic starter. I am lucky if I get one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Good starting point. I went a little wild adding flavoring to the mix. Two teaspoons of peppermint oil or vanillia made for great treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDHARE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was my first recipe with my sourdough starter, and they came out quite well. I agree that they are better a bit larger--I made mine double the recommended tablespoon. Mine didn't rise too much while baking, so what you drop is what you've got, basically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made the recipe as stated, no changes or additions. With my starter, the biscuits where light and fluffy, so fluffy that I could not butter them. But that was fine as they were planed to go with sausage gravy. It is a perfect pairing, a match made in heaven. I will use these biscuits every time I plan on having sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophia Bloodmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richfield, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States