Sourdough Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I had high hopes for this recipe, but I don't think these can accurately be called "biscuits" - they really are almost like a sourdough cookie. They didn't rise and were dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These biscuits were really light and fluffy. They needed a little more taste, next time I will add a little more salt and a little butter in the dough. I used a little extra baking soda to make them more fluffy and less like scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Inedible! I don't know if the baking soda in the recipe should read baking powder, but the biscuits were bitter and the texture was mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Easy to make. The kids love it. I add about 1tbs of sugar to sweeten it. I start out with a basic starter. I am lucky if I get one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Wow! These were interesting! They tasted delicious and smelled just as great. Just don't plan on getting eighteen out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
These are very tasty and so easy to make. My family loves them. It's become a firm favourite. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Good starting point. I went a little wild adding flavoring to the mix. Two teaspoons of peppermint oil or vanillia made for great treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDHARE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This was my first recipe with my sourdough starter, and they came out quite well. I agree that they are better a bit larger--I made mine double the recommended tablespoon. Mine didn't rise too much while baking, so what you drop is what you've got, basically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I am giving 2 stars for flavor. The taste was great, but these are definately not biscuits. Hubby thought they were pancakes; kids thought they were cookies. I added about a 1/2 c extra flour and still didn't get a biscuit consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I made these to round out a quick supper. I used a sweet starter, and the biscuits were quite tasty. Tender, moist, slightly sweet, and very good with a little apricot jam (my favorite) Spread on top. The rest of my family liked them too. Will defenetly make again, though I might make them a bit bigger next time. They are a bit on the small side. Maybe even twice as big would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States