Sourdough Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These biscuits turn out great with a few adjustments: I use 1 tsp of baking soda, 1/4 cup of oil plus 1-2 TBS butter, and I add one 1 TBS sugar. I get 9-10 biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I added 2 tablespoons of apple sauce for acidity (and a touch more flour to keep the consistency), like someone else suggested, and these came out fluffy and delicious. I also used very slightly warmed virgin coconut oil (solid at room temp) instead of vegetable oil, and I felt like that helped with consistency (since normal biscuits often use oil that is solid at room temp and coconut oil is a tasty and healthy alternative). They are a little sweet, at least with my sourdough start, and they didn't hold together super well (I made breakfast sandwiches with my first batch and we needed forks), but they are really tasty - and the recipe also makes really fantastic scones with a tiny bit of added sugar and whatever ingredients you want (so far I've made apple cinnamon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This is a good base recipie for a lot of fun scone options. Definatly not a biscuit, but still tasty. I added 1 Tablespoon sugar. I think they would be amazing with about 1/2 c. dried cranberrys and 1 tsp orange zest added it. Or 1/2 blueberries and 1 tsp lemon zest. Both my favorite scone flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Recipie is very easy. I did add 1/2 cup more flour and 2 tbsp. of sugar. They came out with a mild sweet sour flavor. They were more cakey than biscuit style. Veery good, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Biscuits were dense, not light and fluffy. Good, edible but not remarkable. I was looking for a way to use some sourdough starter so this was a reasonable way to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
The idea of this recipe sounded great, but the end result was disappointing. I made it 2 times, once using the suggestion of using a little sugar, and one without. Both times they just lacked good flavor and a nice consistency. I use the sourdough starter II and the bread made with it always comes out great, just didn't care for this recipe much, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I added 2tbls of applesauce for the baking soda (there is not enough acid in the recipe otherwise). They came out great; light and fluffy. I'll have to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
These weren't too bad. We had them with a chicken stew. I'm at an elevation of 4300 ft/1350 mt and they turned out! I used whole wheat flour for my sourdough starter, so when I made these I used 1c WW and 2 cups white flour. I think my starter was ready enough. Others have mentioned using this recipe for scones. I'm going to try that and see how they work out. As I had the pan sitting waiting to go into the oven, my husband excitedly remarked " OH COOKIES!". I recall another saying that her's had done the same! I recipe would make about 6 nice scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I'm not sure it is fair for me to rate or review this recipe because I've never had sourdough biscuits before. I did not care for them. The texture was pretty good, they cooked up nicely (I used slightly less oil) and were not too thin or runny. But the flavor seemed to lack something, though they certainly had the "sourdough" taste. I think I'm just used to buttermilk biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I guess I would not call them biscuits. I don't know what you would call them. At our house we just call them YUMMY!! They are so delicous as a breakfast, snack, or dessert. They remind me more of shortcakes and would be fabulous with fruit and whipped cream, except there aren't any left at my house! It is a great way to use some starter really fast with very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States