Sourdough Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
it's a quick, easy and smart way to use your surplus starter to make scones: nothing to write home about, but interesting and unbelievably friendly. In a few minutes and with 3 basic ingredients you make something that a lot of people wouldn't dream to be able to produce... I added sugar and dried cranberries and no baking powder or soda, as my starter is quite powerful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This worked out wonderfully! We used butter instead of oil and these were to die for, melt in your mouth, delicious. This will definitely be our "Oops, we need bread fast!" recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These turned out very good, but I changed a few things to make them more biscuit-like. I used 1/2 cup cold coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and I added 1/2 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. I also upped the salt to 1/2 tsp, and mixed in dried blueberries. I cooked them on a pizza stone, and my whole family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
worked awsome..easy fast..done...i did add 1/4 teaspon of baking powder as well...baked at 395 for 15 min..browned nicely and moist in side...used the drop method for shaping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I couldn't get these to brown even the slightest without cooking for another 5 minutes. I'm a fan of larger biscuits so I only yielded 8 from the recipe as is. Good base though to add your spin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Just came out of the oven! I think this recipe is adaptable. Can make sour or sweet as desired. This is the first time I made this. I increased the baking soda to 1 tsp for my batch. Greased my pan with butter flavored Pam. This is a keeper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Ok, so I suppose the outcome of this recipe will depend hugely on your starter, my starter is quite mature and these turned out like a cross between scones & cookies - absolutely nothing like biscuits (which are hard & crunchy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Went with the 1/4 cup of oil and needed the dough and cut the biscuits with round cutter for consistency for the baking sheets. Love the recipe.. very easy... thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I made the recipe as stated, no changes or additions. With my starter, the biscuits where light and fluffy, so fluffy that I could not butter them. But that was fine as they were planed to go with sausage gravy. It is a perfect pairing, a match made in heaven. I will use these biscuits every time I plan on having sausage gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SophiaBloodmoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Every body starter thickness is different. I had to add about another cup of flour to make a nice soft stiff dough which I could then scoop up with a spoon. I did add garlic we love garlic put it in everything. The biscuits came out light and fluffy. A keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States