Sourdough Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Per other reviews, I used canola oil, decreased flour a tad, added more cocoa, used buttermilk in place of water. This makes a nice tall cake... and the batter tastes tangy and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
People complained of a dry cake and not enough chocolate flavor, so to remedy that I substitued canola oil for the shortening, used approximately a whole cup of baking cocoa, added a package of chocolate pudding, added 1-2 T (or more, not sure how much I put in) of instant coffee granuales to enhance the chocolate flavor. Cake was EXCELLENT. Was very moist and good chocolately flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Great base recipe. I added 1/2 sour cream for moisture and chocolate chunks for extra crunch. It needs a little more sweetness, so I'd recommend icing it or adding some sugar to the recipe (or chocolate sauce and ice cream works too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is such good cake,the only thing it needed was 1/2 cup sour cream to make it moist and I also keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I loved the recipe with a few alterations. instead of one cup of water i added a cup of buttermilk, to enhance the sourdough flavor and make it richer. adding half unsweetened chocolate and half chocolate instant jello powder made it stick together better and made it a little sweeter, both good things. all in all, a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I didn't even know you could make cake with a sourdough starter until this recipe! This turned out good. I did follow others advice and added a small package of chocolate pudding. This was plenty chocolaty for us and did not see dry. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and that made it almost perfect! I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Good cake- used 1 c. milk, 1 c. butter flavored crisco, and a package of pudding- to compensate for other reviewers saying it was too dry... the cake was tasty! I used a dusting of powdered sugar on top (I was in a hurry).. but after tasting I wish I would have made an icing. This cake isn't very sweet and does need some extra sweetness on top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I worried about the other reviewers' comments about being dry, so I did the following: *I used 1 FULL cup shortening (I used butter flavored Crisco) *I added about 1/4+cup more water than called for I cooked it in a bundt pan and topped with cream cheese frosting...wow! I would send a photo, but it has already been polished off by my children. Can't even tell that it is made with sourdough! I will make this one again. Especially pretty as a gift or for a luncheon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is something fun and different to do with sourdough. After reading previous reviews about it being dry I did add a small box of instant chocolate pudding, a half bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and baked in 2 loaf pans. I didn't use any icing and it was wonderful! It could make good muffins, too. I'll make this again and again. A good way to use up sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joseph, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyons, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Very moist. About the best addition one could add to a chocolate cake to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States