Sourdough Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by endoalir
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Mine turned out a bit spongy, not very fluffy. However, it tastes good and has a pleasant aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The cake turned out really good. I made some changes that were recommended to help keep the cake moist. I used a little bit more starter than the recipe calls for. I iced the cake with vanilla icing. It was not too sweet, moist and the sourdough gave a nice aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is a nice, basic chocolate cake. I think it needs something--icing, ice cream, whatever--on top to really make it. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added 1/2 cup of plain yogurt (in lieu of their recommended sour cream) to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I have made this cake a few times and have never had a problem with it being too dry. It's not a very sweet chocolate cake so I feel that's probably where most people find the disappointment. But I find it's best with some cream cheese icing drizzled over it (I use a Bundt pan for a pretty cake). Even my young kids love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Gilbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I did not care for this cake. I used canola oil instead of shortening, added chocolate pudding, increased the cocoa powder, used buttermilk instead of water - all which were suggested by other reviews, but it still didn't have much flavor, in my opinion. I probably won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
From other comments, I adapted by using canola oil instead of solid shortening and replacing half the cocoa with pudding. Also made it in the bundt pan. It made a moist, solid very tasty cake. Did not get the sourdough tang, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I make this using oil rather than shortening, to help retain moistness, increase the cocoa to 1 cup for a richer chocolate taste, and used milk rather than water, for taste. I add 1 tsp of instant coffee granules to really help the flavor develop further. Due to the variance in sourdough starters, it is best to use the 1 3/4 cups of flour as a guideline; add the full amount if your starter is more liquid than solid, and less otherwise. You should aim for a batter that is like slightly thin pancake batter for this cake. I serve it to my family as is, but it is very tasty sprinkled with powdered sugar. It comes out very pretty if baked in a bundt pan, which takes approximately 50 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have taken another reviewers advice an added chocolate pudding and using canola oil for shortening. It's baking now has about 5 minutes left on it. It smells wonderful. I also cheated and had a taste of the better, and it is GREAT!!!! I will be icing with cream cheese icing. Will let you know the final results. Okay Have tasted the cake and I must say it is awesome!!!!!! It was baked in a bundt pan. I heated up the cream cheese icing and used maybe half the container icing the cake. The icing gives it just enough more sweetness.... This I will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I was not fond of this recipe at all. I made this for my son's birthday (4 year old), and he would only eat a few bites before walking away, and he will eat just about anything. My husband didn't like it either, and he loves chocolate cake. The chocolate flavor was very minimal. Not going to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I made the suggested changes to this recipe. The cake is very dry. Will not bother to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States