Sourdough Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
I *LOVE* this cake! It is delicious with a wonderful texture. I like it refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
fine texture and flavor. A hit with the kids(6 and 12).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
My husband absolutely loves this cake! We took one of the reviewers suggestions on keeping it in the fridge and that makes it even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
tasty and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This cake is moist, chewy yet has a crumbly texture that's hard to beat. The starter I have is in a 1.5 l jar so I can only make this once/ week at most, which according to hubby, "just isn't enough!" Definitely is a make again and again and again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Very moist. About the best addition one could add to a chocolate cake to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is something fun and different to do with sourdough. After reading previous reviews about it being dry I did add a small box of instant chocolate pudding, a half bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and baked in 2 loaf pans. I didn't use any icing and it was wonderful! It could make good muffins, too. I'll make this again and again. A good way to use up sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joseph, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyons, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I worried about the other reviewers' comments about being dry, so I did the following: *I used 1 FULL cup shortening (I used butter flavored Crisco) *I added about 1/4+cup more water than called for I cooked it in a bundt pan and topped with cream cheese frosting...wow! I would send a photo, but it has already been polished off by my children. Can't even tell that it is made with sourdough! I will make this one again. Especially pretty as a gift or for a luncheon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
People complained of a dry cake and not enough chocolate flavor, so to remedy that I substitued canola oil for the shortening, used approximately a whole cup of baking cocoa, added a package of chocolate pudding, added 1-2 T (or more, not sure how much I put in) of instant coffee granuales to enhance the chocolate flavor. Cake was EXCELLENT. Was very moist and good chocolately flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have taken another reviewers advice an added chocolate pudding and using canola oil for shortening. It's baking now has about 5 minutes left on it. It smells wonderful. I also cheated and had a taste of the better, and it is GREAT!!!! I will be icing with cream cheese icing. Will let you know the final results. Okay Have tasted the cake and I must say it is awesome!!!!!! It was baked in a bundt pan. I heated up the cream cheese icing and used maybe half the container icing the cake. The icing gives it just enough more sweetness.... This I will make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States