Sourdough Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
My husband absolutely loves this cake! We took one of the reviewers suggestions on keeping it in the fridge and that makes it even better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I loved the recipe with a few alterations. instead of one cup of water i added a cup of buttermilk, to enhance the sourdough flavor and make it richer. adding half unsweetened chocolate and half chocolate instant jello powder made it stick together better and made it a little sweeter, both good things. all in all, a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I made some changes to try to avoid a dry cake. I used a whole cup of shortening (trans fat-free) and added a half cup of half and half. There is surprisingly little liquid in the original recipe, which is probably why people found it dry. My changes did make it moist, but this cake has a very fine crumb which makes it fall apart easily. I think next time I will add some instant chocolate pudding to deepend the chocolate flavor and see if it helps the crumbs hold together. The flavor was great and I frosted it with chocolate cream cheese frosting for Valentines Day. I will use this recipe again, but continue to tweek it until I get exactly what I want. A great start though, thanks Sally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
People complained of a dry cake and not enough chocolate flavor, so to remedy that I substitued canola oil for the shortening, used approximately a whole cup of baking cocoa, added a package of chocolate pudding, added 1-2 T (or more, not sure how much I put in) of instant coffee granuales to enhance the chocolate flavor. Cake was EXCELLENT. Was very moist and good chocolately flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is such good cake,the only thing it needed was 1/2 cup sour cream to make it moist and I also keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I didn't even know you could make cake with a sourdough starter until this recipe! This turned out good. I did follow others advice and added a small package of chocolate pudding. This was plenty chocolaty for us and did not see dry. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and that made it almost perfect! I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I worried about the other reviewers' comments about being dry, so I did the following: *I used 1 FULL cup shortening (I used butter flavored Crisco) *I added about 1/4+cup more water than called for I cooked it in a bundt pan and topped with cream cheese frosting...wow! I would send a photo, but it has already been polished off by my children. Can't even tell that it is made with sourdough! I will make this one again. Especially pretty as a gift or for a luncheon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Per other reviews, I used canola oil, decreased flour a tad, added more cocoa, used buttermilk in place of water. This makes a nice tall cake... and the batter tastes tangy and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
I *LOVE* this cake! It is delicious with a wonderful texture. I like it refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I make this using oil rather than shortening, to help retain moistness, increase the cocoa to 1 cup for a richer chocolate taste, and used milk rather than water, for taste. I add 1 tsp of instant coffee granules to really help the flavor develop further. Due to the variance in sourdough starters, it is best to use the 1 3/4 cups of flour as a guideline; add the full amount if your starter is more liquid than solid, and less otherwise. You should aim for a batter that is like slightly thin pancake batter for this cake. I serve it to my family as is, but it is very tasty sprinkled with powdered sugar. It comes out very pretty if baked in a bundt pan, which takes approximately 50 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States