Sourdough Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Per other reviews, I used canola oil, decreased flour a tad, added more cocoa, used buttermilk in place of water. This makes a nice tall cake... and the batter tastes tangy and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
People complained of a dry cake and not enough chocolate flavor, so to remedy that I substitued canola oil for the shortening, used approximately a whole cup of baking cocoa, added a package of chocolate pudding, added 1-2 T (or more, not sure how much I put in) of instant coffee granuales to enhance the chocolate flavor. Cake was EXCELLENT. Was very moist and good chocolately flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Great base recipe. I added 1/2 sour cream for moisture and chocolate chunks for extra crunch. It needs a little more sweetness, so I'd recommend icing it or adding some sugar to the recipe (or chocolate sauce and ice cream works too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This is such good cake,the only thing it needed was 1/2 cup sour cream to make it moist and I also keep it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I loved the recipe with a few alterations. instead of one cup of water i added a cup of buttermilk, to enhance the sourdough flavor and make it richer. adding half unsweetened chocolate and half chocolate instant jello powder made it stick together better and made it a little sweeter, both good things. all in all, a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by countygirl28
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I didn't even know you could make cake with a sourdough starter until this recipe! This turned out good. I did follow others advice and added a small package of chocolate pudding. This was plenty chocolaty for us and did not see dry. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and that made it almost perfect! I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countygirl28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Good cake- used 1 c. milk, 1 c. butter flavored crisco, and a package of pudding- to compensate for other reviewers saying it was too dry... the cake was tasty! I used a dusting of powdered sugar on top (I was in a hurry).. but after tasting I wish I would have made an icing. This cake isn't very sweet and does need some extra sweetness on top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Poplar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I worried about the other reviewers' comments about being dry, so I did the following: *I used 1 FULL cup shortening (I used butter flavored Crisco) *I added about 1/4+cup more water than called for I cooked it in a bundt pan and topped with cream cheese frosting...wow! I would send a photo, but it has already been polished off by my children. Can't even tell that it is made with sourdough! I will make this one again. Especially pretty as a gift or for a luncheon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is something fun and different to do with sourdough. After reading previous reviews about it being dry I did add a small box of instant chocolate pudding, a half bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips and baked in 2 loaf pans. I didn't use any icing and it was wonderful! It could make good muffins, too. I'll make this again and again. A good way to use up sourdough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joseph, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lyons, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Very moist. About the best addition one could add to a chocolate cake to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States