Sourdough Chipotle Chicken Panini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a fabulous sandwich. I've now made it two days in a row. It's also the first time I've used my panini press, and perhaps the first panini I've ever eaten (I'm not sure). I made it exactly as written. I was lucky enough to find a "sourdough square" loaf whose label said "The perfect bread for paninis," so I knew I was on the right track. This was also the first time I'd used my bottle of "Ground Red Chipotle" (which tastes noticeably better than generic "chili powder"). This is a little messy to make, and even though my bread slices were fairly large, the sandwich was almost overstuffed, so I might use smaller chicken breasts in the future. Also, even though I like Caesar dressing, I think 1/4 cup (i.e., 4 T.) is too much, so I might cut it down to 3 or even 2 T. - the sandwich was a little too wet for my tastes. Still, and despite the fat content, this was a wonderful treat, and a great introduction to making my own paninis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
absolutly loved this sandwich. I probably only used a tablespoon of the dressing, and couldn't find the chipolte chile powder so just did a sprinkle of cayenne. Don't own a panini maker so just fried in a pan with another heavy pan on top to press it down. Will definatly make this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Didn't have everything on hand, so I made this with Ranch for the sauce, leftover Grandmothers Chicken Chardon from this website and baked in the oven at 350 for about 30 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
YUM! Unfortunately I did not have all the exact ingredients so my review isn't 100% true to the written recipe. I used 1/8 cup of ceasar vinegarette and 1/8 cup ranch for a creamier sauce and didn't have any chipotle powder so just used a chili powder. I don't have a panini press and didn't have sourdough on hand so I used a french roll, buttered both sides, pressed flat with spatula and grilled like a grilled cheese. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I put down five stars because I didn't want to leave a bad review on the recipe since I did not really make it. However, I just wanted to say.. 83 grams of fat FOR A SANDWICH?? Not sure if anyone looking at this recipe who has made it noticed that but that is really insane!!! I just wanted to put this review here so that if you didn't see the nutritional facts on the side of the recipe you might see it here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is a GREAT recipe! I made it twice once with Naan bread and the next time with rustic artisian Italian bread as I couldn't find a sourdough bread that I liked. Both tasted great. I made up the chicken / bacon earlier and put it in the fridge the panini's came together very quickly come meal time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
fast and yummy! definately a keeper! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oakwoodladies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
i made this tonight and my hubby said, "Great Sandwich!" Changes that I made: I didn't measure the dressing, though I should Have because i ran out of sauce and my hubby's was a little dry in that dept. I carmelized onions, red and green peppers, and cooked mushrooms. I used havarti cheese. i didn't have the chipotle powder, but i did have the chipotle peppers in adobe sauce frozen in my freezer. I took out one pepper, nuked it, mixed it into the dressing. I seasoned my chicken with salt, pepper, and chili powder. i didn't have sour dough, but i had some panini bread that i got from Fresh Market on hand. i buttered both sides of the bread before i put the sandwich together, put it on my panini grill and yummy. i will make this again, very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
For those who don't have a panini press, did you know you can use your George Foreman grill? Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
If you have a panini press, you absolutely need to make this! Here's what I did with mine, and they came out perfect: (1) Cooked chicken tenders on a skillet with minced garlic, salt, and pepper and until cooked through. (2) Chopped up the chicken using my Ninja chopper so it was shredded into small pieces. (3) Used Ken's Healthy Options Caesar Dressing. (4) Used reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese. (5) Used Hormel bacon bits. (6) Used Land-o-Lakes Light Butter. This still isn't the healthiest sandwich in the world, but if you cut the calories in a few easy no-brainer ways it doesn't hurt the flavor AT ALL. I wanted to take a new picture for this recipe to do it some justice but both paninis were gone before I had a chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States