Sourdough Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SmotheredAndCovered
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great recipe! I added a photo of the pancakes I made with this recipe. First recipe I made with my new sourdough starter. I have never been able to have an entire batch of pancakes eaten, but I had no leftovers from this recipe! CHANGES I MADE - used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 full cup unbleached bread flour instead of the flour called for in the original recipe. Also sprinkled a few walnuts on the raw side of each pancake before flipping. approx 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, and no ginger because I do not have any ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
AMAZING!!! ORGASMIC! FANTASTIC! LIFE CHANGING! A SPIRITUAL EXPERIENCE! TRANSCENDED INTO THE NEXT DIMENSION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
All I have to say is, "YUM!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Unfortunately this was not very worth the making... kinda bland and no fireworks of flavors as one would expect with sourdough, so I recommend using the full amount of ginger, or trying pumpkin pie spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These are really good pancakes. After discovering that I must have put the buckwheat flour back on the supermarket shelf, I used whole wheat instead. The ginger and vanilla are very subtle but important ingredients. Blueberries also add to the pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used my Amish friendship starter in this recipe. I omitted any sugar, as the starter is sweet enough on it's own, and added a tsp. of baking powder and added just a little more milk. These were perfect. Fluffy and filling. I was full after one but my kids ate two each. The batter is thick, but spreads out well on the hot griddle. Both my kids loved this and asked for it again. YOU CAN USE YOUR AMISH STARTER IN THIS RECIPE! Yay. So happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Today was the second time for making these pancakes. I think these are so good you should make sourdough starter for these alone. I have substituted different spices for the ginger. (pumpkin spice or cinnamon) I make half a recipe and it is perfect quantity for husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Since I can't get buckwheat now, I figured I'd make these subbing whole wheat for buckwheat. They are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Made wonderful waffles also with no changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Another great way to use my starter. Next time I well add blueberries before flipping them over. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States