Sourdough Buckwheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
IMHO, recipe needs more Buckwheat to AP flour ratio. As is, it is sort of buckwheat light pancakes. Also on a 300 degrees F griddle mine were done in far less time, I doubled the buckwheat, added 2 Tbl. Buttermilk powder, and substituted honey for the sugar to get (what I think is) a better variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OldGuy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Great way to use Amish Friendship starter. Ileft out the sugar since there is a lot in the starter. Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I love sourdough and buckwheat, and I just don't love this recipe. They were way too heavy without any offsetting fluffiness. The mixture was more like dough than batter, so when I cooked it it cooked like a flat piece of heavy bread than a pancake. OK taste -- we ate it -- but falls into the don't make again category. I'll stick with either sourdough pancakes, or buckwheat pancakes -- won't try to make them both at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These were really good! I didn't make any modifications. I like the addition of the ginger. The best thing about these is that they are healthier than regular pancakes because of the wheat flour. If you want, you can leave the white flour out entirely. I served these with apple syrup and bacon. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Wow! And not in a good way, these were bland flavorless and gummy. I think the addition of white flour was unnecessary it just made the dough too thick and I had to add water. I make a really good sourdough pancake and was hopping to find a good variation but this recipe needs work in my opinion. I'll try some variations and review again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somes Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made these this morning and they were very good. Not at all sour (may be due to my starter). I followed recipe exactly. Didn't have much taste of ginger. I might add more vanilla and ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
These were tastey but could use some work. I didn't have buckwheat so used whole wheat instead. I also substituted molasses for the sugar and increased the ginger a bit. They had great consistency but not the rich flavor I was going for. I like my pancakes to taste great with out the topping additions. I plan on playing with the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Had high hopes for this recipe, I wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmotheredAndCovered
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great recipe! I added a photo of the pancakes I made with this recipe. First recipe I made with my new sourdough starter. I have never been able to have an entire batch of pancakes eaten, but I had no leftovers from this recipe! CHANGES I MADE - used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 full cup unbleached bread flour instead of the flour called for in the original recipe. Also sprinkled a few walnuts on the raw side of each pancake before flipping. approx 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, and no ginger because I do not have any ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
AMAZING!!! ORGASMIC! FANTASTIC! LIFE CHANGING! A SPIRITUAL EXPERIENCE! TRANSCENDED INTO THE NEXT DIMENSION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States