Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This was really a good recipe. Probably the best basic sourdough recipe I have tried. And I have tried quite a few. At first I hesitated on the amount of yeast, but I have made this twice now and it has turned out great both times. First time I did use the baking stone and the second time I just used a regular baking sheet. I think I liked the shiny baking sheet better. Also, I reduced the temp to 400 degrees the second time and liked the results better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I did not use a bread machine (don't have one) and I only used 1 c. of starter. I thought it might be too sour. But now I wish I would've used the whole amount! I think it depends on how sour your starter really is. The starter I used was the "No Commercial Yeast" starter. Next time I'll try making this bread with my wild grape starter since it is more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've just found my signature sourdough recipe! I can see why it won an award 3 years in a row. The best response came from my husband who said "Now this looks & tastes like professional bread"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I can't believe *I* made this! This recipe gives you one amazing loaf - w/ a thick, flavorful crust outside and a light, fluffy bread tucked away inside. Although I used a young starter (only 5 days old), I got a distinct sourdough flavor for my effort. My only deviations from the recipe as written were to (1) break the dough up into 2 loaves & bake in loaf pans for 30 minutes each @ 375 and (2) I brushed olive oil over the tops & sprinkled w/ diced onion. This recipe will be around for a long time - can't wait to try it once my starter is even further established.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Great recipe. We've learned to make the slashes in the top very deep as the crust tends to split.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This produced a fragrant, tangy, loaf of bread that is soft inside with a nice crust. My Mom & I just sampled a piece, and it is wonderful. Very simple recipe; I like the addition of milk, butter, and the wheat germ. I cut back by 1 teaspoon on the salt, otherwise ingredients were perfect. I will make this again; Warren, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This bread is wonderful! Nice texture and good zing from my starter. I made the dough in my bread machine and then divided it into rolls, cooked some and froze the rest. I could have eaten every roll I baked. Now I can't wait to bake the frozen ones. I didn't have wheat germ, so I substituted ground flaxseed, which gave it a nice multi-grain look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe is just great. I do use an egg wash for a nice brown crust, and I didn't have wheat germ, so I use 3T of vital wheat gluten instead. I've been baking this bread once a week for over six months now, and every time it comes out wonderful. I do split the dough, however, and freeze half, and bake half. The frozen dough we use during the week to make sourdough pizza, which is also a great hit. :) The dough freezes very well, and just needs to defrost at room temp for 2 to 3 hours, and then raise in a warmed oven with a bowl of water for at least 30-40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Very good recipe. Should be made into two loaves though and not one. I did the just one and I had an enormous loaf of bread!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Exactly the sourdough recipe that I was looking for! I've made it twice now with great results. For the second time, I applied an egg wash to make the crust crispier and it turned out great. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States