Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Absolutely wonderful!!a little more work than some but results were worth it. Did mine in a cloche...Sipless08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Following the instructions, my dough was a little slack. I rounded it and set it on a pizza stone to rise and then bake. It baked quickly with a good crust and had lots of small holes. A yummy flavor, but next time I'll cut back on the sugar as it interfered with the sourdough flavor. But overall, very good and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I adapted for the mixer (liquid, fat, salt then dry ingredients). The appearance, taste, crumb and crust are all excellent - however, not sour flavored, but more like a delicious whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is some great Bread! I substituted one cup whole wheat flour for one cup white flour. I added about 1/8 cup more Starter and kneaded the Dough on a lightly floured Bread board. I kneaded the dough, let it rest for one hour, then kneaded again lightly, let is rest for another hour, then split the Dough into two round loafs. I also added an egg wash w/ sesame seeds to the dough top and a small metal bowl of water to the oven before baking. I had forgot to slash the bread dough before putting in the oven and it turned out great. Mine was much darker than the Image portrays. I froze one loaf for later use. The flavor was great, mild and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This sourdough recipe is the first I've tried, and I'm happy with the results. The bread has a good crisp crust and a delicious inside. Great recipe. I used this for buns the second time. Note: I would cut down the salt and minimize the rising time next time, as it is VERY salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hakeber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This sourdough will quickly shoot to the top of most highly rated on this site. It was my first attempt at sourdough and even the youngest member of our house liked it! Crispy on the outside, soft and tender inside. A two pound loaf is a little much for us so I halved the recipe (one half of a tablespoon = 1 and 1/2 teaspoons). It still tasted great. Other than cutting this in half, I followed the recipe to a 'T'. I used the "No Commercial Yeast Starter" from this site. This is the best sourdough...thank you for sharing your award winning recipe Warren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
GREAT recipe! I found that my dough needed more than 4 cups of flour, and I added an egg wash to the risen loaves before baking. It turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I tried this recipie without the wheat germ, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great taste and texture, really easy. Used a whole wheat starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States