Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This bread was great - soft and chewy with a great crust that was almost flaky in a way. We really liked it. We were out of wheat germ (omitted) and sugar (exchanged with honey), but it was still wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My family loves this bread - I make it in two versions: one with a white flour sourdough starter and one with a whole wheat sourdough starter. The bread turns out quite differently using the different starters. I also substitute olive oil for the margarine and bake it shaped like a huge long loaf on a parchment coated baking sheet at 375 deg. F for 37 minutes. Thanks for sharing this recipe Warren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Warren, THANK YOU so much for this wonderful recipe. The loaf was quite sour and so tender. The only change I made was subbing olive oil for the margarine (as I didn't have any). Beautiful rise, great crust. Will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I have made this twice. The second time I added a tbsp. minced onion, dried rosemary, and italian herbs. All the same measurements. I put cuts into the bread and it deflated on me. It was still excellent. Next I will try herb rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Reither

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wow, really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This bread is out of this world. Fluffy and tender. The rise was beautiful and I followed the instructions exactly. Mine didn't have much of the sourdough taste but I think it had to do with my starter being so young. I did not need extra flour like other reviewers but I did split it into 2 loaves and they turned out to be two beautiful big loaves so I am happy I decided to do that. Thanks Warren!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by silverblitz
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Delicious with great texture. One caveat; watch the time it's in the oven! I also make heavy slices across the dough ball before it rises the second time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was a very good recipe. My starter was fairly young and I was a little nervous. My in-laws were coming for dinner and I wanted to impress them. My father in-law loved the rolls I made from this. He is a sourdough junkie and said these were the best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
very good, i make this one into 2 recipes . one with whole wheat and the other one is with bread flour. both using different starter that why the whole wheat is more sour than the normal one. both i use diifrent topping. the white one i use course salt my fav and the other one is sugar and sesame , because of the sugar the crust it make became more crispy and sweet ( love this topping too ) i don't know why but the whole wheat need more baking than the white one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Athough not a true sourdough in that it uses yeast in addition to the starter, this bread came out beautiful. Perfect crumb and crust. Light flavor (even though I had a mature starter.) Per the advice from a Bakers Guild baker, I baked at 375 for 30 minutes, rotating halfway. Did not spritz the oven as the temp lowers every time the door opens. Instead, use a small dish filled with water or open the door slightly just to toss in a few ice cubes now and then. It made a great loaf but not sour enough because of the quick rise and use of added yeast and milk. Still, nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States