Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This recipe is very easy and turns out wonderful. The crust is very flavorful and the inside texture is perfect. I have made this recipe about 4 times now and it turns out the way sourdough bread is famous for. Thanks for the recipe. Douglas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bigfork, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've made this bread three times in the last 2 days...awesome.So easy to come together,I used all purpose flour and after the punch down and shape I baked it in 2 loaf pans 8x4 baked 350*in preheated oven for 30 minutes.Came out perfect,it rose up way over the top of pan before I baked,the texture was so good,and great flavor.This will be my recipe from now on,I buttered the top right out of the oven because I like it soft.Thanks Warren for a great recipe.Happy Georgia girl here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe is just great. I do use an egg wash for a nice brown crust, and I didn't have wheat germ, so I use 3T of vital wheat gluten instead. I've been baking this bread once a week for over six months now, and every time it comes out wonderful. I do split the dough, however, and freeze half, and bake half. The frozen dough we use during the week to make sourdough pizza, which is also a great hit. :) The dough freezes very well, and just needs to defrost at room temp for 2 to 3 hours, and then raise in a warmed oven with a bowl of water for at least 30-40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Good bread but didn't taste like sourdough to me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
love it! I make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This bread has an excellent flavor. My first time it didn't turn out quite right so I made some adjustments. I used olive oil instead of butter and decreased the sugar by 1 tablespoon as it was too sweet the first time I made it. I also substituted wheat flour for the wheat germ as I didn't have any wheat germ available. I used 'fed' sourdough that sat after feeding for a few hours and was bubbling nicely. I did make 2 instead of one loaf as it was too large the first time. While baking, I cooked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes then shut off the oven and let it cool naturally and removed the bread. It turned out great with these adjustments. A lot like store bought, only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This bread was great - soft and chewy with a great crust that was almost flaky in a way. We really liked it. We were out of wheat germ (omitted) and sugar (exchanged with honey), but it was still wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My family loves this bread - I make it in two versions: one with a white flour sourdough starter and one with a whole wheat sourdough starter. The bread turns out quite differently using the different starters. I also substitute olive oil for the margarine and bake it shaped like a huge long loaf on a parchment coated baking sheet at 375 deg. F for 37 minutes. Thanks for sharing this recipe Warren.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Warren, THANK YOU so much for this wonderful recipe. The loaf was quite sour and so tender. The only change I made was subbing olive oil for the margarine (as I didn't have any). Beautiful rise, great crust. Will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I have made this twice. The second time I added a tbsp. minced onion, dried rosemary, and italian herbs. All the same measurements. I put cuts into the bread and it deflated on me. It was still excellent. Next I will try herb rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Reither

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States