Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
? I just attempted Emeril's simple sourdough recipe, 2c. flour, 1.5c starter, and salt. THATS IT! it was sooo dry and crumply it wouldn't come together until I added almost 1/2 c water. I still don't know if consistency is right or not. I just threw in fridge to proof overnite. If your a Michigander, like myself, would you ever consider a few basic baking classes? I cannot tell afterwards when the loaf sucks, whether I overkneaded, underkneaded, or didn't add enough fat, or too much fat, or not enough flour....I am not improving and getting frustrated with the waste. I do not have a stand mixer at this time, but am keeping my eyes peeled for a used one. I am hoping this will improve my end results. So, any ideas for a baking class, and I am IN! thanks, christy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The first loaf I made was great. I followed the recipe exactly. The second loaf is in the bread machine now. This time I believe I will do like a couple of commenters did and make two loafs. Cook one and freeze one for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curtis Smith
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this bread the other night with my newly started sourdough starter... About a week old. I've always wanted to have a sourdough starter but after a couple failed attempts I had given up. However, my starter with this recipe was great! I give the recipe the credit..and I was short on bread flour so I substituted 1/2 c wheat flour for my missing bread flour and since I don't have a bread machine I did this the old fashioned way and stirred until stiff then added cornmeal to keep from sticking to counter. I put a damp towel on top and placed in a preheated but turned off first oven which was set to 175 degrees. I did that because it was very cold out and my house needs insulation bad(drafty and cold!) so my rise time was probably 1.5 hours... Punched it down and rolled on flour surface(used cornmeal) made it into a round shape then placed on baking stone back in my oven I heated then turned off. After about 45 mins I took it out heated oven to 400degrees then baked for 20 minutes!! Headed to get more bread flour now! My whole family loves this bread and want more for the soup I'm making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blythe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've made this bread 3 times already and each time the bread turned out beautiful! I do use my bread machine for the mixing and turn the dough out on the bread board for the forming and last rise. I have made this bread into one large loaf or two smaller loaves (which I prefer). It is simple to make and one of my family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Perfect as written. Loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
What an amazing recipe! Such a lovely taste, and especially with the method of using the bread maker to do all the hard work for you, you can have home-made artisan bread in a jiffy with no real fuss! I can't wait to make this again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawn.c.lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Not as much "sour" flavor as I like. More like a dense, chewy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I hate to give critical reviews to any recipe. However, I did not care for this recipe because it did not taste like authentic sourdough bread. This type of bread does not need "fancy" additions like milk or margarine. Sometimes simple is better, i.e. sourdough starter, flour, water, salt, a bit of sugar and yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusanMar
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I loved this bread. I made it into two loafs that came out beautiful. The taste is fabulous. I did cut down the commercial yeast to one scant teaspoon because I am on a quest to make bread with just my starter, but I'm still learning about how to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama of Two
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was my first effort at sough dough and it was awesome!! I didn't have cornmeal but that didn't seem to have a negative effect. I used a stone and spritzed it with cooking spray before putting the dough on it to rise. I used an egg wash at the start and half way through made of one egg white and 3 tbs water. I will definitely use this recipe over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States