Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This was really a good recipe. Probably the best basic sourdough recipe I have tried. And I have tried quite a few. At first I hesitated on the amount of yeast, but I have made this twice now and it has turned out great both times. First time I did use the baking stone and the second time I just used a regular baking sheet. I think I liked the shiny baking sheet better. Also, I reduced the temp to 400 degrees the second time and liked the results better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This bread was pretty good. I didn't have a great starter to work with, so I think that's why my bread tasted like an average white bread, however that is not this recipe's fault. My problem as some of the others have said, was also the fairly mushiness. SO, I think the for best results, and the next time I make this recipe, I will lower the temperature to 350 degrees--that way the inside will cook more thoroughly. All in all, I think it's a good recipe after these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This produced a fragrant, tangy, loaf of bread that is soft inside with a nice crust. My Mom & I just sampled a piece, and it is wonderful. Very simple recipe; I like the addition of milk, butter, and the wheat germ. I cut back by 1 teaspoon on the salt, otherwise ingredients were perfect. I will make this again; Warren, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I really ejoyed this recipe. I make our bread for lunches so, we divided up the dough and put them in loaf pans. It makes 2 perfect loaves. We really like this recipe. Thanks for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've just found my signature sourdough recipe! I can see why it won an award 3 years in a row. The best response came from my husband who said "Now this looks & tastes like professional bread"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Great bread. Made it many times. Family loves it. Bread crust stays soft for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe. Easy, not a heavy bread, makes great toast, wonderful sandwich bread and fantastic French Toast. I made this in my breadmaker and then baked it in the oven. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Exactly the sourdough recipe that I was looking for! I've made it twice now with great results. For the second time, I applied an egg wash to make the crust crispier and it turned out great. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I did not use a bread machine (don't have one) and I only used 1 c. of starter. I thought it might be too sour. But now I wish I would've used the whole amount! I think it depends on how sour your starter really is. The starter I used was the "No Commercial Yeast" starter. Next time I'll try making this bread with my wild grape starter since it is more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This bread is wonderful! Nice texture and good zing from my starter. I made the dough in my bread machine and then divided it into rolls, cooked some and froze the rest. I could have eaten every roll I baked. Now I can't wait to bake the frozen ones. I didn't have wheat germ, so I substituted ground flaxseed, which gave it a nice multi-grain look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States