Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Great taste and texture, really easy. Used a whole wheat starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I can't believe *I* made this! This recipe gives you one amazing loaf - w/ a thick, flavorful crust outside and a light, fluffy bread tucked away inside. Although I used a young starter (only 5 days old), I got a distinct sourdough flavor for my effort. My only deviations from the recipe as written were to (1) break the dough up into 2 loaves & bake in loaf pans for 30 minutes each @ 375 and (2) I brushed olive oil over the tops & sprinkled w/ diced onion. This recipe will be around for a long time - can't wait to try it once my starter is even further established.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECK03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Great recipe. We've learned to make the slashes in the top very deep as the crust tends to split.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
At the end of the dough cycle my dough was very, very runny. I ended up tossing it in the mixer with the dough hook and adding in a lot more flour-2-3 cups I believe. I've noticed our machine often needs more flour than the recipe so it could be just a quirk. Other than that I followed the recipe as listed. The bread turned out delicious and made a huge loaf-our whole family loved it. It could easily make two smaller loaves or really yummy rolls. Becca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Very good recipe. Should be made into two loaves though and not one. I did the just one and I had an enormous loaf of bread!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This bread is wonderful! Nice texture and good zing from my starter. I made the dough in my bread machine and then divided it into rolls, cooked some and froze the rest. I could have eaten every roll I baked. Now I can't wait to bake the frozen ones. I didn't have wheat germ, so I substituted ground flaxseed, which gave it a nice multi-grain look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I did not use a bread machine (don't have one) and I only used 1 c. of starter. I thought it might be too sour. But now I wish I would've used the whole amount! I think it depends on how sour your starter really is. The starter I used was the "No Commercial Yeast" starter. Next time I'll try making this bread with my wild grape starter since it is more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Exactly the sourdough recipe that I was looking for! I've made it twice now with great results. For the second time, I applied an egg wash to make the crust crispier and it turned out great. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is a very tasty recipe. Easy, not a heavy bread, makes great toast, wonderful sandwich bread and fantastic French Toast. I made this in my breadmaker and then baked it in the oven. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Great bread. Made it many times. Family loves it. Bread crust stays soft for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States