Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
VERY good. Not sour enough for me, but next time I'll let my starter sit longer. I used my bread machine to mix the dough. EASILY enough for 2 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! Let me tell you it does not work in a bread machine though. I tried it in my bread machine the first time and it makes too much of a crust and also is just a little more than two pounds I am guessing because it got a little too big. LOL. But the second time i made it in the oven and it was a hit. Everyone loved it and the loaf was perfect. Looked great and taseted great. Now i am making my third loaf and am so excited to see how much better the starter keeps getting. We like extra sourdough bread. I also decided after that second time that one loaf is way too big, so i cut the dough into two loafs and bake it in the oven that way. The bread machine works to make the dough, just do not bake it in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I found this to be too unstable, it does not use enough flour. My dough wanted to puff too much while rising & it deflated no matter how careful I was while handling, even though I was careful not to over-rise & the temps while rising were not excessive (maybe 70*, light on, oven off, no drafts) Also, the oven temp is too high to cook the inside until hollow. The crust was way beyond brown, not appealing & I had two loaves. I researched technique & tried another recipe, which turned out amazing....Tips that helped the other recipe were that.... too little flour & not enough kneading made unstable, deflatable dough. (10 min. in my kitchenaide with the dough hook was perfect) & then to def. use an eggwash, (I used melted butter first, then eggwash & the crust was chewy & crispy, and PRETTY), not dry, crumbly & burnt. Preheat your oven for 50 min at 400* with a stone on the lowest rack. Let your bread do it's final rise on a greased/cornmealed metal pan & then set the pan right onto the hot stone in the preheated oven. The hot stone helped cook the inside perfectly. Put a ramekin of hot water on the floor of your oven for steam. Spritz the walls with water often for 5-10 min. Bake for 10 min. then turn heat to 370* for 20-30 min. I think technique is what bread is all about, & this recipe lacks technique. I'm sorry for the review, I DID like the flavor. I'll try the ingred. again sometime, but with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
OMG talk about easy and wonderful. I put it in my bread machine and let it rise and had the perfect loaf of sourdough. I am going to make a loaf for my in-laws who love breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Absolutely wonderful!!a little more work than some but results were worth it. Did mine in a cloche...Sipless08
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Following the instructions, my dough was a little slack. I rounded it and set it on a pizza stone to rise and then bake. It baked quickly with a good crust and had lots of small holes. A yummy flavor, but next time I'll cut back on the sugar as it interfered with the sourdough flavor. But overall, very good and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I adapted for the mixer (liquid, fat, salt then dry ingredients). The appearance, taste, crumb and crust are all excellent - however, not sour flavored, but more like a delicious whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is some great Bread! I substituted one cup whole wheat flour for one cup white flour. I added about 1/8 cup more Starter and kneaded the Dough on a lightly floured Bread board. I kneaded the dough, let it rest for one hour, then kneaded again lightly, let is rest for another hour, then split the Dough into two round loafs. I also added an egg wash w/ sesame seeds to the dough top and a small metal bowl of water to the oven before baking. I had forgot to slash the bread dough before putting in the oven and it turned out great. Mine was much darker than the Image portrays. I froze one loaf for later use. The flavor was great, mild and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This sourdough recipe is the first I've tried, and I'm happy with the results. The bread has a good crisp crust and a delicious inside. Great recipe. I used this for buns the second time. Note: I would cut down the salt and minimize the rising time next time, as it is VERY salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hakeber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States