Sourdough Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I have made this twice. The second time I added a tbsp. minced onion, dried rosemary, and italian herbs. All the same measurements. I put cuts into the bread and it deflated on me. It was still excellent. Next I will try herb rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Reither

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Wow, really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This bread is out of this world. Fluffy and tender. The rise was beautiful and I followed the instructions exactly. Mine didn't have much of the sourdough taste but I think it had to do with my starter being so young. I did not need extra flour like other reviewers but I did split it into 2 loaves and they turned out to be two beautiful big loaves so I am happy I decided to do that. Thanks Warren!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by silverblitz
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Delicious with great texture. One caveat; watch the time it's in the oven! I also make heavy slices across the dough ball before it rises the second time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was a very good recipe. My starter was fairly young and I was a little nervous. My in-laws were coming for dinner and I wanted to impress them. My father in-law loved the rolls I made from this. He is a sourdough junkie and said these were the best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
very good, i make this one into 2 recipes . one with whole wheat and the other one is with bread flour. both using different starter that why the whole wheat is more sour than the normal one. both i use diifrent topping. the white one i use course salt my fav and the other one is sugar and sesame , because of the sugar the crust it make became more crispy and sweet ( love this topping too ) i don't know why but the whole wheat need more baking than the white one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Athough not a true sourdough in that it uses yeast in addition to the starter, this bread came out beautiful. Perfect crumb and crust. Light flavor (even though I had a mature starter.) Per the advice from a Bakers Guild baker, I baked at 375 for 30 minutes, rotating halfway. Did not spritz the oven as the temp lowers every time the door opens. Instead, use a small dish filled with water or open the door slightly just to toss in a few ice cubes now and then. It made a great loaf but not sour enough because of the quick rise and use of added yeast and milk. Still, nice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
VERY good. Not sour enough for me, but next time I'll let my starter sit longer. I used my bread machine to mix the dough. EASILY enough for 2 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe is wonderful! Let me tell you it does not work in a bread machine though. I tried it in my bread machine the first time and it makes too much of a crust and also is just a little more than two pounds I am guessing because it got a little too big. LOL. But the second time i made it in the oven and it was a hit. Everyone loved it and the loaf was perfect. Looked great and taseted great. Now i am making my third loaf and am so excited to see how much better the starter keeps getting. We like extra sourdough bread. I also decided after that second time that one loaf is way too big, so i cut the dough into two loafs and bake it in the oven that way. The bread machine works to make the dough, just do not bake it in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I found this to be too unstable, it does not use enough flour. My dough wanted to puff too much while rising & it deflated no matter how careful I was while handling, even though I was careful not to over-rise & the temps while rising were not excessive (maybe 70*, light on, oven off, no drafts) Also, the oven temp is too high to cook the inside until hollow. The crust was way beyond brown, not appealing & I had two loaves. I researched technique & tried another recipe, which turned out amazing....Tips that helped the other recipe were that.... too little flour & not enough kneading made unstable, deflatable dough. (10 min. in my kitchenaide with the dough hook was perfect) & then to def. use an eggwash, (I used melted butter first, then eggwash & the crust was chewy & crispy, and PRETTY), not dry, crumbly & burnt. Preheat your oven for 50 min at 400* with a stone on the lowest rack. Let your bread do it's final rise on a greased/cornmealed metal pan & then set the pan right onto the hot stone in the preheated oven. The hot stone helped cook the inside perfectly. Put a ramekin of hot water on the floor of your oven for steam. Spritz the walls with water often for 5-10 min. Bake for 10 min. then turn heat to 370* for 20-30 min. I think technique is what bread is all about, & this recipe lacks technique. I'm sorry for the review, I DID like the flavor. I'll try the ingred. again sometime, but with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States