Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I, like a handful of other reviewers, must have done something terribly wrong. My dough did not rise enough to double, and ultimately ended up as a dense, heavy, small loaf. Very disappointing. I tried this recipe due to the reviews raving about what a light loaf of bread this made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This bread was AWESOME using Becky's starter, but waaay too sweet for my taate. Will make again using less sugar. Thanks Becky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This bread is amazing!!! This is my first attempt to make homemade bread. My Mom made a bread similar to this when I was a little girl. I called her up to let her know how great it is. Now my children will get to enjoy something I grew up with too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
wasted alot of flour to learn that my starter didn't have the yeast to work. Maybe try this again later after my starter has matured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I am a newbie to breadmaking- I have made about a dozen loaves of a simple Amish white bread found elsewhere on this site, with good results, learning from each loaf. As an example of what I've learned, I moved from disposable aluminum foil pans to glass, and now to cast iron (cast iron being a fascination of mine). I've been wanting to try a sourdough for a year and finally got the guts to try making my own starter two weeks ago. Having a healthy sponge, I needed a recipe- didn't realize that till I had already started getting everthing out of my cabinets to make bread Saturday morning. I downloaded the allrecipes Android app and looked up a basic sourdough bread- landing here. It's now Sunday morning and I've just taken the bread out of the oven. It is AMAZING!! A touch of sourness to it, definitely a different smell as it cooked, but definitely a very yummy smell. One thing to note for you new bakers- don't do like I did, start at 2pm then have to stay up till 3am because the dough's rising faster than you expected (but don't expect it to rise at all quickly, either). I ended up sectioning the dough into pans at 3am, and then left them to rise while I slept- ended up with excess dough on the counter. That turned out fine, though- olive oil on a piece of aluminum foil and in the oven it went, giving me something to munch on while I waited for the bread to cool. I now have two beautiful loaves of artisan bread on a plate, and have to fight off the family to not dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Simple and Awesome. I buttered pans and gave a milk bath after they rose before baking but that is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Makes a great bread and when divided in 6 separate balls, it makes for great soup bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This recipe worked out perfectly! I did not use any salt because I thought I had heard that it kills yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Tried this recipe out as my first sourdough with a starter that I started. It came out great.I made one loave & four small buns. My husband ended up taking a bun to work for lunch. I didn't have any bread flour so I used 4 cups of whole wheat flour & 2 cups of allpurpose flour. I also wasn't sure how long to let the loaves rise so I let it go for about 2 hrs I could've put them in the oven earlier, but it's winter time. I did agree with someone else about it being sweet but with the whole wheat I would only cut it down to about 1/3 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This is an amazing bread. I highly suggest using Becky's sourdough starter that uses potato flakes to make this bread with. I have made plain bread, rolls, and cinnamon bread with it. I personally use the bread rising setting on my dehydrator and do a 4 hour rise the first time and a 2 hour rise the second time. I am currently making bread sticks with it. I have not let it rise overnight (too cold in my house) Oh Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States