Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Love this bread!! I first made it exactly as written and it is perfect that way but all cooks "mess" with a recipe sometimes. I make it twice a week, so easy and my friends and neighbors love me. I do use melted butter instead of corn oil and rarely knead it after just a bit before the first rise. Works both ways. I even did a taste test at work to see if there was a difference taste wise. came out even. Just a preference so if you feel lazy don't knead it see what you think. I use Becky's starter I do add three TBSP of sugar and three of potato flakes to feed it. Don't know if it is a big deal, just goofed up one day and it seemed to work better. Might just be in my head or my native yeast. Oh yes once in awhile I add gluten to the bread flour. 2 TBSP for the two loaves. A bit more protein and texture. Since I work and am single and can eat when I want I set the started out all night after I feed it and mix the bread in the am to rise. When I get home I make the loaves and let rise about an hour and bake 45 minutes in my oven. Works out great for me. This bread will last for at least 12 days on the counter in a bag. Never has molded. If it lasted longer might be able to tell how long before it spoils, but I eat it! Toast it for a great flavor later on in the week. Wow the french bread it makes is a killer!! FYI not sour like San Francisco bread just really good. Thanks Becky!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Depending on oven 45min may be too long. Mine was too crusty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
lovely, basic sourdough loaf! Very good sliced and toasted. This was a just the recipe I was looking for:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Awesome! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Okay,my bread did not rise and came out very dense .I admit,I added flour when I was kneading it in the final phase to deal with the stickiness.Back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was AWESOME! A great bread and a fairly simple recipe. Just a fyi, I got the best results when I waited to use my sour dough starter after I feed it and waited until it had risen to its highest peak and was all foamy and bubbly. It made my bread so much lighter and you could really feel the difference in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I used Sourdough Starter I by Becky Richardson to make this bread. It overflowed the bowl it was in while rising the first time overnight, but thankfully, I had set the bowl on a cookie sheet. The next morning, I scooped up the overflow and incorporated it into the mixture and kneaded it. I wore gloves while I kneaded the bread, and yes, it was sticky, but I didn't add any extra flour to the mixture other than what was on the board underneath. I kept wondering the entire time if it would turn out, or if all this time and energy were for nothing. It took quite a while for the second rise in the loaf pans, but I finally decided to bake it, and it turned out great. I don't care for a really sour bread, so this one is perfect for me. So glad I have more starter in the frig waiting to be fed and made into more bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I can't wait to try this! I love love love sour dough bread! (: Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made my first 2 loaves using this recipe and the corresponding starter (potato flakes). I followed the recipe precisely. The dough actually never became a kneadable dough, more like a batter. I put the batter into my bread machine and simply set it to knead 10 minutes, then poured the contents into 2 loaf pans and baked. The result was a decent loaf of bread - dense, sweetishly sour. The next time, I will add more flour for a kneadable dough and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
The first two times I made this bread it was delicious. From the third time on, it takes far too long to rise and will not get done in the middle. I have fed and handled the starter per the starter recipe and have followed the bread recipe exactly. I had high hope of making more creative breads with the starter but it's too much trouble to have disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States