Sourdough Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cody Stephens
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I substituted butter for the oil, used 25% whole wheat flour, and added 1/4 teaspoon of yeast. The bread turned out awesome - fluffy, moist, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Amazing! I used melted butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I may be back to edit this review...everything seemed to be going well, it rose nicely overnight and I had high hopes but after shaping into loaves it didn't really rise much if at all. Maybe it needed more time but after two hours I expected to see some signs. I'll try again and hopefully have better luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My first batch, I used my starter purchased from King Artur Flour and blended half AP flour with WW flour. It turned out really well, but it was very crumbly. I'm working on my second batch today. And it is 100% WW flour. The weather here is very humid, so hopefully this batch will be as good as the first. I will submit photos after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Great recipe....beautiful texture some of the best bread I've ever made. Easy to make but takes a long time to rise, in my cool coastal home, however worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith Boyd Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Waters
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I used the wheat sourdough starter recipe by "ZEPHYRAZURE" and this bread came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sourdoe
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Hi, this is the second time I bake this bread in less than a week. It's wonderful! I did not even need to knead this dough. I applied the no knead principal and found it worked perfectly. Tomorrow morning I will make into cinnamon bread (to please hubby), and bake when I return from work. Thank you for a very superior recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
this is a great recipe, I didn't change anything except, the oil, I used canola ( it's what I use) and I didn't knead the dough I just dumped it out on my board and worked it a few times let is rest, and shaped it as best I could as it's a wet dough and I didn't want to work new flour into it. My family loved it and it was supper easy!! Thank you so much for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Rice
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
One of the easiest bread recipes I've ever made..had to have a slice fresh out of the oven..and my fiancé had 2 slices..will definitely make again.and probably soon..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Rice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bmg2479
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I used sourdough starter by Esther Nelson also on this site. I let the dough rise with the light on in my oven for 13 hours on the first rise and 5 hours on the second rise. Baked at 300 for 30 minutes as my circa 1961 oven runs a little hot. I was a little nervous as I had never made sourdough bread before, but this recipe turned out 2 fantastic loaves! Had a subtle sour taste, not too sweet as other reviewers had mentioned. Can't wait to make this recipe again as I think spending a short amount of time making bread over several days is easier to manage with young kids than spending a larger amount of time in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States