Sour Milk Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a good base for those who don't care for spicy spice breads. This was more like a nice spice bread...the batter was fairly thick. I changed the spices to 1 tbsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. cardamom, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. allspice and 1/4 tsp. cloves. I also used 3/4 cup sugar and added 2 tbsp. molasses, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. instant coffee. I did NOT add nuts. I baked it in a terracotta loaf pan at 350 for 60 minutes and used a toothpick to test for doneness starting around 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I've made it several times and used various sized pans. It has always been a success and tasty. Thanks. I like it because it has no eggs. Also I had almost a 1/2 gallon of sour milk to use up. It froze nicely too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Great way to use spoiled milk (but with a few tweaks)! I substituted 2 eggs (beaten) for the oil and doubled the spices plus added a teaspoon each of ginger and allspice. You could add mace, cardamom and nutmeg too. Reduced sugar to 3/4 cup. I added a full cup of walnuts and about 3/4 cups raisins. The result was an excellent coffee cake that both my husband and I love. It's not too heavy but still fairly dense, neither dry nor super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have made this cake probably 25 times and it is fool-proof. The only thing I change is that I add a lot more spices, and larger amounts than are called for. I use cinnamon, cloves, allspice, nutmeg and cardomom, but honestly you can't go wrong. I like to make it in a loaf pan, like you do for banana bread, and serve for breakfast, or, if you want to make it more fancy, you can use a bundt pan and sprinkle some powdered sugar on top. It's delicious no matter what and a great way to use sour milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was a great use for some sour milk I had on hand. I used 1/4 c. prune puree (prunes/water-don't knock it 'til you've tried it!)for the oil and replaced some of the all-purpose flour with white whole wheat flour. Since I used an oil substitute, I reduced the oven temperature to 325 degrees and baked for 20-25 min. Delicious! Would also be nice with a light glaze drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conjeannieal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
It was okay but not worth making a second time for me. Still on the hunt for sour milk recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobbi
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
It was my first time making spice cake, (i normally go for chocolate) and it was a huge success! I made this recipe the other day because I had some sour milk in my fridge. I decided to turn it into cupcakes and substitute butter for the oil. I also added extra cinnamon and clove and added nutmeg as well. I topped them with an ultra creamy maple frosting. The result was a delicious, moist, buttery cupcake that I will definitely make again! (Made 11 cupcakes) The frosting really brought it all together and was absolutely incredible. Here's the recipe: 1/2c (1 stick) butter whipped on medium speed for 2-3 minutes. Add 1/2 tsp maple flavoring. Add 3-4 cups powdered sugar, and enough heavy cream to achieve the desired consistency. (2-3 Tbsp) Amazing creamy maple deliciousness is the result! Feel free to add salt if it comes out too sweet or just to add some flavor dimension. Mine turned out perfect but I can't remember if I used salted butter or not? Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe makes a nice cake as it is. I made some personal changes to personalize it. I inc the spices by half again (ie. 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon), added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1 1/2 cups chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins, omitted nuts (onlybecause a family member can't have them). I reduced the oven temp to 325, inc cooking time to 50-60 mins. This made a very moist cake that is good w/out frosting as a snack cake, or dusted w/powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe. We have pear trees so used my pear sauce instead of oil. I added 1/3 cup of oatmeal. 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and some raisins. I made muffins instead and baked them for 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Very good simple, quick to make, cake! I did use 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice in place of the ginger/cinnamon, otherwise made the cake as written. Topped it with a thin layer of cream cheese frosting - and the family loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyCakeKnits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States