Sour Milk Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was a great use for some sour milk I had on hand. I used 1/4 c. prune puree (prunes/water-don't knock it 'til you've tried it!)for the oil and replaced some of the all-purpose flour with white whole wheat flour. Since I used an oil substitute, I reduced the oven temperature to 325 degrees and baked for 20-25 min. Delicious! Would also be nice with a light glaze drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conjeannieal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
It was okay but not worth making a second time for me. Still on the hunt for sour milk recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobbi
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
It was my first time making spice cake, (i normally go for chocolate) and it was a huge success! I made this recipe the other day because I had some sour milk in my fridge. I decided to turn it into cupcakes and substitute butter for the oil. I also added extra cinnamon and clove and added nutmeg as well. I topped them with an ultra creamy maple frosting. The result was a delicious, moist, buttery cupcake that I will definitely make again! (Made 11 cupcakes) The frosting really brought it all together and was absolutely incredible. Here's the recipe: 1/2c (1 stick) butter whipped on medium speed for 2-3 minutes. Add 1/2 tsp maple flavoring. Add 3-4 cups powdered sugar, and enough heavy cream to achieve the desired consistency. (2-3 Tbsp) Amazing creamy maple deliciousness is the result! Feel free to add salt if it comes out too sweet or just to add some flavor dimension. Mine turned out perfect but I can't remember if I used salted butter or not? Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This recipe makes a nice cake as it is. I made some personal changes to personalize it. I inc the spices by half again (ie. 1 1/2 tsps cinnamon), added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1 1/2 cups chopped apple, 1/2 cup raisins, omitted nuts (onlybecause a family member can't have them). I reduced the oven temp to 325, inc cooking time to 50-60 mins. This made a very moist cake that is good w/out frosting as a snack cake, or dusted w/powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZTweet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe. We have pear trees so used my pear sauce instead of oil. I added 1/3 cup of oatmeal. 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and some raisins. I made muffins instead and baked them for 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Very good simple, quick to make, cake! I did use 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice in place of the ginger/cinnamon, otherwise made the cake as written. Topped it with a thin layer of cream cheese frosting - and the family loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyCakeKnits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Excellent! I substituted butter for the oil and creamed the sugar and butter together first before adding the remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
reduce sugar to 3/4 cup, reduce oil to maybe 5/6 cup, add 1/2 tsp (scant) nutmeg).... all with a still very delicious, moist cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
doubled the cinnamon and clove, added 2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp of ginger. Batter was very stiff added more milk to cake mix consistency. Also added to chopped apples and raisins. Great use of sour milk !!Lightly frosted with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
made cupcakes and baked them for 25 minutes at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Mine were not as moist as some in the pictures, but moist enough and delicious. I also doubled the spices as other reviews recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sobugg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States