Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I was skeptical about this recipe, but I let my son pick and this is the one he chose. My skepticism soon disappeared. These were very good and all the kids really liked them. I used fat free sour cream and nonfat plain yogurt. I left out the vinegar and added vanilla as other reviews suggested. I also used an egg substitute. After cooking about half the batch I added some sugar to the remaining batter. I really don't think it made much of a difference though. We will definitely make these again. Next time I will try vanilla yogurt instead of plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I had some sour cream to use up so I tried this instead of my usual waffle recipe. I made a couple of changes based on what I had on hand and personal preferences. I used 1 cup w.w. flour and 1 cup a.p. flour, strawberry yogurt, about half the amount of salt called for and 1 tsp vanilla. These were very good fresh off the waffle maker, but if they sat for a minute or two they became chewy. I prefer a crispy waffle so I popped mine in the toaster for a few seconds and that solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
These were really good. My two year olds even ate them! I made a couple of changes after looking at the reviews. I actually used low fat milk instead of water. I used half wheat flour and half all purpose flour. I used vanilla yogurt, and vanilla instead of the vinegar. I topped them with applesauce, a little lite syrup and some cinnamon. Yum! I loved that they were more healthy than regular waffles! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yummy! I used vanilla yogurt because we always have that on hand. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and left out the vinegar. So delicious and creamy - just like a previous reviewer said! Much better than a mix from a box and not at all difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
My husband ADORED these, while I was only moderately fond of them. To each his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Wow - I loved these. Light, fluffy & very tasty. They didn't crisp up but my waffle maker doesn't really crisp waffles very well. I thought my yogurt was plain but it was vanilla, so I had a little sugar & vanilla added. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Made with all yogurt, half wheat flour, and vanilla instead of vinegar. They came out light and tasty. Served with sliced strawberries. Thanks for a healthier waffle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I made these with 1 C low-fat plain yogurt and no sour cream, plus 1 t vanilla and no vinegar. They were a tinsy bit chewy - easier to eat with your hands or with a knife - but still tasted good. The recipe is easy enough but they are just average waffles, nothing special, so I rated it a 3. But it's handy when you're out of milk. I think they'll be fine toasted tomorrow too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I definetely didn't think this waffle recipe was anything special. It definetely was lacking something. I added a little sugar after I tasted the first waffle. It wasn't bad but I will keep trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Since I had leftover sour cream and yogurt to use up, this was a perfect recipe! Made half a recipe, using reduced-fat sour cream and fat-free vanilla yogurt, and they came out pretty decent. Froze them and they are still good after a quick pop in the toaster oven. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemrslarge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States