Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great flavor! I took other reviewers opinions and used vanilla yogurt [actually Honey Vanilla Greek yogurt] and added vanilla - yum! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that I wish the outside stayed crispier longer....they softened up fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great waffles! We were out of milk, so this recipe was perfect. I had to sub 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the all purpose (I was almost out of flour too). The only yogurt I had was blueberry, so that gave the waffles just a hint of blueberry flavor. Also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Great flavor and texture. Hubby and 2 yr old loved them too. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Did not think the taste was worth the cost or the fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Amazing! I was out of milk, had weevils in my easy waffle mix and this was a life saver! I even used light sour cream and fat free plain yogurt and they came out amazing. I did make a few adjustments: I omitted vinegar I added 1/2 tsp vanilla I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar Wonderful. Thanks so much Holly George! You saved dinner time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Wow, these are good. A few tips. First do NOT SKIP the vinegar. This is what adds lightness to the dough, and you can't taste it at all - it is a chemical reaction you need to give you light, fluffy waffles. Second, keep the fat of your sour cream/yogurt in mind. Full fat will need more water added to the batter, while low or fat free will need less water to get the right consistency. Also, because I like my waffles this way I added 3 Tbsp of demerara sugar (i.e. Sugar in the Raw) which adds a little sweetness, a little crunch. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I didn't have any yogurt or white vinegar, so I just used double the sour cream. I also added some vanilla extract. I really liked the flavor and texture of these; they tasted like and felt like crepes, but they were waffle-shaped. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This is a keeper ! Quick, Easy and Great tasting. Followed recipe as far as adding the vinegar, as I believe the reaction between the little bit of vinegar and the baking soda gives it the lightness some have thought they were missing, also took advice from some of the other reviewers and used vanilla yogurt and added a tsp of vanilla and got light airy waffles with great flavor. Thank you for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were very good. I agree with other reviewers that they start out crispy on the outside but get chewy quickly. That said, I only used half the batter the first day, so the next day when I used the second half, I left them in a little longer and they stayed nicely crisped. They went from a B to an A+ on the second day. I think it might have been from the batter sitting overnight as well as the longer cooking time. The only change I made was to sub about 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour. Next time I might try adding vanilla like other reviewers suggested, but I would not eliminate the vinegar, I think the chemical reaction makes the batter so light and fluffy and really delicious. My boys liked these a lot with agave nectar, not so much with fruit and whipped cream. Since the batter isn't sweet, it helps to have a sweet topper for the waffles (although I actually like them plain). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought these were great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TeamSeabron
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great waffles. Nice and fluffy. I included the vinegar others left out (figured it was probably a chemical reaction thing) but also added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1 tbsp sugar when I blended in the eggs. Next time I make them I'll be sure to cook them a smidge longer so they're a little crispier and they'll be perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States