Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I was looking for a waffle recipe without milk (we were out) and found this delicious mix! I did make just a couple of changes. As I didn't have plain yogurt, I used a lemon cream pie Yoplait yogurt and it was phenomonal. I also added in a splash of vanilla and a splash of almond extract. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
5 stars for being able to make waffles without milk! we ran out of milk but really wanted some waffles for Saturday and found this recipe. Incidentally, I have a tub of sour cream that needed to be used up. I ended up using 1 cup of sour cream (as I didn't have any yogurt), 1/2 cup WW flour and 1 1/2 cup AP flour. It was great! I noticed that there weren't any sugar in the recipe and didn't mind it at all because it is not as if we don't already put enough syrup/whipped cream on the waffles! Thank you for an ingenious waffles recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Fabulous! Made these to use up my sour cream and plain yogurt. They turned out really good! Husband wants vanilla added to them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
More like 4.5 stars really. I doubled the recipe and used a container of vanilla yogurt and subbed half whole wheat flour for all the ap. I got six waffles on my belgian waffle maker this way. I took a family poll of this recipe vs my normal go-to and this won hands down. DH really liked that they were nice and moist and didn't suck up all the syrup like my normal recipe. I think I've found a new go-to. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
The perfect breakfast in a pinch when you're all outta milk. I used whole wheat flour and added a touch of vanilla. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I just got my first waffle maker and this was the recipe I decided to try. I used fat free sour cream, fat free vanilla yogurt, and egg beaters, as that is what I had on hand. Very good...the kids gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
excellent! nice texture. I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour, and it came out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Not bad for basic, very light and fluffy (I used vinegar). I added vanilla, cinnamon, cloves, and 1T sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Great flavor! I took other reviewers opinions and used vanilla yogurt [actually Honey Vanilla Greek yogurt] and added vanilla - yum! The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that I wish the outside stayed crispier longer....they softened up fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Great waffles! We were out of milk, so this recipe was perfect. I had to sub 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the all purpose (I was almost out of flour too). The only yogurt I had was blueberry, so that gave the waffles just a hint of blueberry flavor. Also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Great flavor and texture. Hubby and 2 yr old loved them too. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States