Sour Cream Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
These waffles were fantastic! My family enjoys the flavor of vanilla in our waffles, so I used vanilla yogurt instead of plain and also added a tsp. of vanilla extract. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
These were really good. My two year olds even ate them! I made a couple of changes after looking at the reviews. I actually used low fat milk instead of water. I used half wheat flour and half all purpose flour. I used vanilla yogurt, and vanilla instead of the vinegar. I topped them with applesauce, a little lite syrup and some cinnamon. Yum! I loved that they were more healthy than regular waffles! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Petersen
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
tasted great; couldn't even tell the difference from your standard waffle mix...this is actually pretty healthy with yogurt in the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Petersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Yummy! I used vanilla yogurt because we always have that on hand. I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and left out the vinegar. So delicious and creamy - just like a previous reviewer said! Much better than a mix from a box and not at all difficult to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Excellent!Fluffy and flavorful. My husband was skeptical at first but quickly ate his words along with most of the waffles. These have become a staple at my house. The only change I made was using vanilla yogurt instead of plain because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Christmas Morning GOOD! Need I say more. If perfect can be improved upon though I did make the first batch as written then for the next batch, I followed the lemon jce. instead of vinegar w/ 1 tsp. of vanilla advice and it was delicious. We served them with homemade chunky applesauce and syrup & cream! What a delightful breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
More like 4.5 stars really. I doubled the recipe and used a container of vanilla yogurt and subbed half whole wheat flour for all the ap. I got six waffles on my belgian waffle maker this way. I took a family poll of this recipe vs my normal go-to and this won hands down. DH really liked that they were nice and moist and didn't suck up all the syrup like my normal recipe. I think I've found a new go-to. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Not bad for basic, very light and fluffy (I used vinegar). I added vanilla, cinnamon, cloves, and 1T sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Amazing! I was out of milk, had weevils in my easy waffle mix and this was a life saver! I even used light sour cream and fat free plain yogurt and they came out amazing. I did make a few adjustments: I omitted vinegar I added 1/2 tsp vanilla I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar Wonderful. Thanks so much Holly George! You saved dinner time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
My daughters loved these. I didn't have any vinegar so just left it out and also took others advice on the vanilla yogurt and vanilla extract. They were the best waffles ever!!! We will definately be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States