Sour Cream Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Made exactly as wirtten. My dough was refrigerated overnight per recipe. Very skeptical after I made it if it would work and to my dismay, it didn't. The dough was sooooo crumbly I could not get it to come together enough to roll out. Sorry, I had high hopes for it too. Ended up going with "Christmas Cut-Out Cookie" recipe instead. Which worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Great recipe, My mother-in-law was a great baker. She has passed now and I never did get her recipe but this is so close. I omitted the nutmeg and added 1 teaspoon almond extract. Really close to hers!!! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I really liked this recipe for cut out sugar cookies. I used the "sugar cookie icing" from JBS Box for the icing and the cookies turned out amazing! They looked so professional. The dough for me wasn't the easietst to work with, but I found the it truly needs to be chilled for a few hours. I used 1/2 confectioner's sugar and 1/2 flour to get the dough not to stick. In my opionion, any cut out cookie you make requires some common sense when working with the dough. Whatever recipe you work with, be prepared to put some time and effort into it. Also, I loved the nutmeg flavor. It reminded me of cookies from my childhood. My new stand by recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugar High
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These cookies are great! They're very soft and stay that way for days. The dough is pretty hard to work with though. Make sure you do refrigerate it overnight. I roll my dough out on wax paper sprinkled with powedered sugar instead of flour. Too much flour will make them hard. I omitted the nutmeg and used 1 Tablespoon of orange rind. This gives the cookies a great flavor, and it smells so good! I prefer to frost them with a fluffy buttercream frosting flavored with vanilla or almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar High

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great recipe! Two things: Use almond extract in place of vanilla; the flavor is heavenly. No exaggeration. And I used plain yogurt (I was out of our cream; it worked fine). One last thing: I used whole wheat flour (I use ww flour for everything.) And they turned out great. For the ww newcomer, you might try half white, half whole wheat. Any recipe with sour cream or yogurt in it is ideal for whole wheat; milk products keep whole wheat cookies soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These were really, really bland. The dough looked fabulous, and I really thought they would turn out great, but they really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Pretty good, the nutmeg was really strong. Next time I will use less (as other reviewers suggested) or omit all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by liz
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I thought these were perfect cookies. I like them because they are not too sugary. I didn't think they were too bland. They were just right when you put a little frosting on them. I can see that they might not be as good if you didn't add a little frosting, but why wouldn't you? They held their shape well. We also didn't want to wait over night and stuck the dough in the freezer for a bit, and they worked pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santaquin, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I used butter instead of margarine and they came out with a nice, soft texture with a great buttery flavor. I ended up putting the dough in the fridge and not baking them until two days later, and they still turned out really well. I used fresh grated nutmeg, too. We really love these cookies--the sour cream really makes them soft, and the nutmeg gives these a really nice subtle flavor. I'll make these from now on--they also kept their shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States