Sour Cream Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
The cookies and frosting did not turn out how we expected...my daughter wouldn't eat these..very very dissappointed with the turnout...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These have become a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessMakerBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The dough rolled out well, but it was quite sticky... not like usual sugar cookie dough. It baked up pretty high but was cake-like in texture and somewhat bland in flavor. Followed ingredients exactly except I ran out of vanilla and substituted it with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
We just got done making these cookies and found them to be very good. 1/4 is perfect for a nice thick fluffy cookie. Do not overbake or you'll get a hard cookie instead of a nice soft one. We had enough frosting for all cookies and even had a little left over. Both the cookie and frosting have very nice flavor, prior reviewers may have over floured. The dough was not hard to work with, we did flour our work surface, rolling pin and cutters. I give this one 5 stars easily. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I found a million sugar cookie recipes, and I decided on this one to mail to my niece & nephew. They were really tasty and sturdy enough to mail. The only thing I did differently was to roll them out with powdered sugar instead of flour, like one reviewer said. I had to make more frosting, so I will do a double batch of frosting next time. What's the point of doing frosting, if you're not going to do it right. Parchment paper really came in handy, since I rolled them and baked them on it. I think I will put another sheet of parchment or wax paper on top, so they don't stick to my rolling pin. My husband hates sour cream, but he loved these. He compared them to the really good ones you get at the grocery store bakery. You won't be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
These cookies tasted fine- very light and not too sweet- but I found them difficult to roll out and work with even after a longer time in the fridge. Also, I didn't like the poofy texture after they were cooked- I didn't bake them the whole 10-12 min suggested because they started to brown...at 350...after 6 minutes. Maybe they would have looked less like a biscuit gone wrong if they had baked the whole time given, but then again, maybe they would have been a bit overdone/burnt. I'd rather have strange looking cookies than burnt ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Perfect - not too sweet! I mixed in the flour ingredients by hand, maybe that's why my cookies were not as soft but still I love the texture! I will use this one every time. Very easy to roll out if you use some flour on the rolling pin and surface. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Pretty decent. Very thick and puffy, I rolled them a bit thicker than the 1/2 inch suggested. The frosting works well, too, perfect for coloring and loading up with little christmas decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I used this recipe last year frosting and all. This year I've changed the frosting (a fluffier one), but when I thought I'd lost the recipe I'd printed out a year ago (before I decided to become a member) I was in a panic as to WHERE I had gotten this recipe online. When I found it again today I was thrilled. These cookies are PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I do not bake, and needed cookies for a 4th of July gathering. These cookies were easy to put together, baked wonderfully, and were a huge hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States