Sour Cream Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I give the actual cookie 4 and a half stars and give the icing 5 stars! The cookie is good; it's very soft and a little hard to get off the pan so you have to be sure and grease your pan well and don't let the cookies cool very long before moving them to a cooling rack. It's not a real sweet cookie so it definitely needs icing, but wow..this icing is SO yummy. I've made powdered sugar icing many times to frost cookies but never thought to add cream cheese. I had some icing leftover and just ate it with a spoon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
AWESOME! I added 1/2 tsp almond extract, that's the only addition I made. These cookies are soft and they taste great, even without icing! Instead of using the icing recipe, I just bought some Betty Crocker Cream Cheese frosting. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These are the best sugar cookies I have ever made! I will probably never use another recipe. The only thing I did differently was to add a 1/2 tsp. of almond extract. The cookies bake up light and fluffy and they held their cut-out shape really well. I made them a little thick and they were perfect. The icing is easy to work with as well. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justamom
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
You can always subsitute 1/2 cup of sugar for a small packet of vanilla instant pudding mix. There is not really a difference at all to the taste but hey, its less sugar and still a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justamom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
OMG!! the best cookies ever, i've searched alot for a recipe like this and i found it. you wont be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Dough was delicious,,but the cookie baked was not. Didnt seem to have any flavor. I wont use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACEY5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
My mother gave me this recipe years ago and I lost it, thank you so much for submitting it here. These sugar cookies can't be beat. The best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These cookies get two thumbs WAY up! Every time I bake these I do a double batch because EVERYONE wants some! The dough is soft and cake-y and subtly sweet while the frosting is creamy and sweet. The only modification I make is to add a teaspoon of almond extract to the batter and the frosting and MAN do people go crazy for the almond! The response I always get is, "What's that flavor...I can't quite put my finger on it but it's AMAZING!" It's not over-powering, just a little something different. These are PERFECT cookie-cutter cookies, but do be sure to chill the dough for at LEAST a couple hours (I do mine overnight.) I also bake mine only 10 minutes and they are perfectly soft yet strong enough to support PLENTY of frosting. These are a BIG winner in my book! I have given this recipe to at least 12 different people and they keep passing it on...I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caseymay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
The cookies and frosting did not turn out how we expected...my daughter wouldn't eat these..very very dissappointed with the turnout...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These have become a family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MessMakerBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States